1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Recommended Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nitrous123, Feb 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    so what is the exact power comsuption in watts of the nvidia 7600gs and ati 2600 pro then please
     
  2. avengeda7x

    avengeda7x

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    as far as i know both them card dont draw exrenal power, all is consumed from the slot itself, so i would think you will be safe with a 450/500W
     
  3. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    what would happen if I buy these graphics card under non-compatible power supported?
     
  4. mowersman

    mowersman

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    150
  5. avengeda7x

    avengeda7x

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    to your question...

    im asuming you mean if you put in a graphics card with a minimum support of 500W and you use a 400W for example...

    your system will be unstable, meaning that at anytime your psu could just *blow* and could take your motherboard with it as your asking for power that it cant supply.!
     
  6. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Wow shocking I'll get the 400watt power supply then. When I get some extra cash
     
  7. avengeda7x

    avengeda7x

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    and another thing, its not all about watts when a psu is concerned.!

    a good 400W psu could perform better that a cheap 600W

    always cheak the output Amps on the 12V rail, idealy your looking for around 18Amps +

    or eaven 2 x 12V rails at 15Amps +
     
  8. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    With 2 12V rails don't pay attention to what it says each rail can provide, pay attention to the combined power. Some power supplies with 4 12V rails at 20A a piece can only supply 25A combined. If it does not list the combined output in Amps then it will list it in Watts on the sticker on the side of the case. To convert from watts to amps over a 12V circuit just divide the watts by 12.
     
  9. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Thank you guys I'll keep that in mind then its abit advanced but i'm sure i'll get the hang of it.
     
  10. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    o i just found out my mobo is actually a micro atx so can i buy a normal atx power supply or buy a micro atx instead?
     
  11. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    That depends on the case, not motherboard. But an ATX will fit mid and full towers, so I'd go for that.
     
  12. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    its big case like most cases it is not small. I believe that a normal atx motherboard can replace it. So i will buy a atx 400w power supply
     
  13. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    Alright, the one I linked to earlier will perform well. Just don't cheap out on it. Make sure it has at least 25 amps on the 12V rail. You will really regret it if you buy a cheap power supply and when it breaks it takes your new graphics card with it.
     
  14. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    I bought a new card a 7600gt I did many researches on it for my PC as it is a agp system and it was the card out there that I know of that could run neally all the games fairly well. So today I put the card in and I bought in a 400W Octigen Power Supply But the card doesn't wanna know. Its a Inno 3D 7600GT. The specs on the atx power Supply is:

    +3.3V, +5V, +12V, -12V, -5V, +5VSB
    AMPs: 26A, 30A, 12A, 0.8A, 0.5A, 2A

    All I want to know is will I have to buy a new power supply??
     
  15. nitrous123

    nitrous123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    bump please help me =(
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/686837