1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Recording from stereo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by busterdog, Oct 25, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    I want to put some of my old vynil records on cd but my stereo has no output jacks on the back. Can I use the headphone jack and connect it to the input on the sound card?
    Thanks
     
  2. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Yes, but the quality won't be very good because the headphone jack is amplified. An aux output, or something similar that doesn't amplify will give you better quality.

    If you don't have it though, you don't have much choice. Keep in mind that you may have to adjust the volume on your stereo to amplifiy the sound to a point where the sound card input picks it up correctly.

    ------------------
    Get free stuff and help out a poor computer tech

    http://www.rkfdcore.com/ebaypics/referrals.htm
     
  3. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    Thanks Larry
     
  4. Steve-x8086

    Steve-x8086

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    607
    First Name:
    Steve
    Does your stereo have Tape In/Out jacks for adding a Tape Deck? If so then you have a preamp output to use.
     
  5. busterdog

    busterdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1999
    Messages:
    339
    No the tape player is built into the amp.
    I tried recordong through the headphone socket and the quality was awfull.
    Guess I will have to buy a new stereo but thanks to all for the help.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/34145

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice