REcovering hard disk space

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sug55

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
2
I tried to reformat my hard drive and did the following.

Somehow I managed to partition my hd and ended up with a very small c: and an extended drive named F:. I went to disk manager and deleted f: but it did not send the unallocated disk space to my C:.

My C: remains too small to even use system restore. It is under 200 mbs in size.

I want to have all of my disk space reallocated to c:. Can you help me?:confused:
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
You need a 3rd party partitioning utility to extend the C: partition into the now unused space.
 

sug55

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
2
I downloaded Acronis Disk director suite but my c: is too small to install. What else can I do?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
IS there anything you can clean up on the C: drive? Programs to remove that you can reinstall later? Files you can back up to another drive?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
I think your best bet is to reinstall again and recreate the partitions during the install.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
I agree your best bet is a reinstall however if you do not want to do that, there is another way. Just install acronis disk director to another system. Make the acronis boot CD. Now boot your system with the boot CD and resize your partitions. You are good to go.

Another way would be to install acronis on your other partition. Nothing says it must be on C.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
BTW I have used the acronis disk director 10 CD to resize my system with vista. Worked fine with no problems at all.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
5
I remember a tool software can help you. It can reallocate the harddisk space keeping the data in every partitions alive.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
How about converting the disk to a "dynamic" disk, then extending the volume onto the reset of the C: drive?

Or did they remove this feature in Vista???
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Have you even been successful in converting a boot partition to a dynamic disk. Everything I've read and tries shows it can't be done.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
You can convert a boot partition to dynamic but once converted it can't be extended.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
I've never had to do this either (convert then extend). Don't understand why it wouldn't work though....
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Check with Microsoft's site on this. You might be able to convert to a dynamic disk but you can't extend it because it is your boot drive. Or you can try it and see for yourself that it doesn't work. Don't know why since I am not a programmer or was involved in writing the operating system. Just know from testing that it doesn't.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
611
I spent at least three hours using every software there is to try and get my partitions to do what I wanted... I ended up formatting them both, and using the complete space installing.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top