Recovery Disk probs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lehj0002

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
6
My wife has an HP slimline s7520n. Long story short . . . hard drive crashed. Ordered recovery disks from HP and replaced the HD...seagate 7200.10 250gb. Former drive was seagate 7200.9 200gb. The recovery disks dont work. I get a blinking cursor . . . no error messages . . . nothing. Spent some time with HP tech support and said the motherboard needed to be re-tattooed. The want $200 to do it. I guess my question is is there something I can do to fix this issue? Im not a moron when it comes to computers but this is beyond my knowledge. Need some quidance. Ive looked around and heard about some utilites that I can get but don't know exactly what there for are how to use.

I've checked the bios and DVD drive is set to boot first. The HD is recognized and is working fine. Installed a copy of XP pro but the wife liked media center edition better. What ever the wife wants . . . Help me!
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,366
I don't understand this posting at all.

There is a problem with the motherboard?

You have XP already on it but not happy with it?

You want XP Media Center Edition but cannot put it on because of the motherboard?


I am confused.
 

lehj0002

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
6
Im trying to restore the comptuer back to factory settings . . . but the Recovery CDS wont work because of the new hard drive i put in. HP told me bc ithe HD wasnt factory installed, the recovery disks wont work unless I re-tattoo the bios for the new harddrive. Does that make any sense?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,366
Ok, you have the license sticker for Win XP Media Center edition on base of laptop right?

If you have this , you can use ANY Win XP Media Center CD -borrow one from a colleague if you have to.

(Forget about HP restore CDs - they don't always even work)
 

lehj0002

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
6
Yeah I have the sticker. Won't I have to install a bunch of drivers? When I did that with a different machine, also an HP, I had to go to the website and install drivers that were missed. Its been my experience that some components dont use generic dirvers (Soundcard, Modem, Video, etc)
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,366
Unfortunately, you will have to download some of the drivers from the HP site...but hey you will get
a working copy of windows and a happy missus!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top