Recurring Problems after clean install

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gmenzies85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
11
i had to format my PC and reinstall windows about 2 or 3 weeks ago, because my comp kept freezing up and eventually it wouldnt load up at all. the only way i could get it to load anything was by booting up from disk - so i formatted and reinstalled windows by doing that...

get it up and running and it lasted about a week then the same fault came back.. again i formatted and reinstalled windows. this time it only lasted a few days.. and again.. and again..

i have all windows updates installed, i am running kaspersky internet security - which doesnt find any faults..

it's been like this ever since i changed to Virgin Broadband instead of BT.. surely this has nothing to do with it?

is there ANYTHING i can do to fix this fault?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
8
-try new memory chips.
-are all the fans spinning in the pc? -check graphics card fan especially.
-reseat the memory chips.
download memtest86 and run it overnight - if its ok, try a new hard disk.
Sounds like a hardware fault.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I agree this sounds like corrupted memory. When you run memtest, you need to do 4 complete tests and each test has 8 passes so it will take 3-4 hours.
www.memtest86.org
 

gmenzies85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
11
i've ran memtest, let it run for 5 hours and no errors were found.

is there a way to check hard-drive faults?

as i have 2x 500gb hard disks.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You can go to the hard drive mfgr site and download a free utility that will test the drives.
 

gmenzies85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
11
downloaded a utilty for my HD's (samsung hd501lj ata) but when i boot from disk it comes up cannot install, out of memory.. *doesnt understand it lol*

i did however discover to do the built-in dell diagnostics which checked Harddisks, fans etc etc.. and no errors were found..

that being said i've not had any problems since the last install so not sure if it's fixed itself or if there is actually something still wrong..:confused::confused::confused:
 

gmenzies85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
11
just ran it on the other cd drive to check if maybe the drive is faulty.. but same error message is coming up
 

gmenzies85

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
11
i burned the iso file to disk, the same as i did with memtest,

and booted up the pc from the cd, like i did memtest.

when i do that it loads up saying something about loading and FAT32 etc then that message comes up then just flashes the command line C:/
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top