recycle bin can't delete program Dc57

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Da22ve

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
5
I am running Windows XP and when I try to empty my recycle bin which am told has 15 items inside I get an error message (recycle bin can't delete program Dc57) When I open the bin it is empty. Though trying to empty it again I get the above response!
Help.
Thanks Dave.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
Go to Start/Run and type in CMD:

Type CD\ RECYCLER, and then press ENTER.
Type ATTRIB -r -s -h info2, and then press ENTER.
Type DEL INFO2, and then press ENTER.

NOTE: This deletes the damaged INFO2 file. Windows will recreate this file as needed, automatically.
 

Da22ve

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
5
MFDnSC said:
Go to Start/Run and type in CMD:

Type CD\ RECYCLER, and then press ENTER.
Type ATTRIB -r -s -h info2, and then press ENTER.
Type DEL INFO2, and then press ENTER.

NOTE: This deletes the damaged INFO2 file. Windows will recreate this file as needed, automatically.
Thanks it worked a treat.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1
I've got a somewhat similar problem. Norton said The file C:\RECYCLER\S-1-5-21-1417001333-573735546-682003330-1004\Dc88.tmp is a Adware threat. It couldn't delete the file, it didn't come up when I tried to search for it, and when I go to The file C:\RECYCLER\S-1-5-21-1417001333-573735546-682003330-1004, it's not there. When i tried doing cmd, ATTRIB -r -s -h info2, it said info2 not found. How do I get rid of this sucker?
 
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
195
I have Windows-xp home SP2. When I read this thread, I looked into my 'recycler' folder and did not find any 'info2' file (I have set the windows explorer folder options to show all hidden and system files and folders). Does anyone have any explaination why my recycler does not have this file? Thanks.


Preet Gill-Kumar
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
1
I had the same problem with info2 not showing in the Home edition. This is gonna sound a stange workaround, but it worked for me.
Open Nero and select to create a CD.
In the explorer window on the left you'll see "recycler" on the drive.
Go inside it and you'll see the info 2 file.
Right click it and uncheck "hidden"
Now try the arrib command.

I know it's a bizarre workaround but as I say, it worked for me. Hope it helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top