Recycle Bin

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Deke40

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,160
I hate to ask this because everbody but me probably knows the answer.

I have always heard people say "Put in the Recycle Bin and run a few days and it everything is alright delete from there".

Does this mean by having it in the RB it is invisible to your operating system?

Told you everybody probably knew this.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Yes.


When you delete a file, and it goes to your RB, you are not doing anything to the actual file, just deleting the stored reference to it. If you remove that file reference, then the OS will not be able to find it, and therefore will reallocate the memory to other tasks. That means the file is not really deleted, just had it's placeholder removed.

When you remove it from the RB, nothing really happens, except that the RB is not storing the placeholder for you anymore, and it is slightly trickier to recover the file, but still relatively easy. this is because the file is still there, just has no locking placeholder on it to prevent it from being overwritten. This means that the entire file, or maybe just bits of it, are recoverable later on, depending on many factors.

If you want to truly make sure a file is "deleted", and I mean removed for good, then you need to use applications that are specifically designed to tear apart the bits and bytes that have been used to store that data.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi Deke,

Yes, well not so much invisible as ignored, or
'set aside' although such files are still shown
and available in their folder called 'Recycle',
and if wanted, can of course be restored.

The recycle bin will only hold the amount set
in the 'Global' setting. If more stuff is added to the
bin, then some is lost off the bottom, so to speak.

The default order on the bin is alphabetical and
i usually change this to make the order into date
order.

I find it more reassuring to know that the oldest
stuff in the bin will be lost as more is added,
rather than the alphabetical, which seems to me
has no bearing on how long its been in the bin.

As you probably know, clicking on the 'Name' tab
will reverse the alphabetical order to start with 'Z'

The same applies to the 'Date Deleted' tab, if you
click on it, it will apply date order to the bin items.
Click again and it will apply reverse date order to
the bin items.

Have a look at the top item, when you're happy that
is the newest, you can be sure the one at the bottom
is the oldest.

Then right-click on the blue name bar at the top,
this gives a small drop-down menu,
hold down the 'Ctrl' key when you click 'Close',
this is supposed to be a 'Hard Close' and its
supposed to retain the settings of that window.
(dunno how true it is)

I generally leave the bin in that setting, happily
hoping that it will stay like it. (it has so far)

John
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top