$Recycler.bin folder on external hard drive but only when connected to my tablet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
Happy New Year to you all!

Here is a question for you, my external hard drives have been checked against viruses and were fine and all clear. For Christmas I got an Arnova tablet and today I decided to attach my Western Digital to it. When it finally recognised it after I switched the thing off and then on, I noticed that the external hard drive has a folder called $Recycler.Bin. However when I connect the SAME external hard drive to my PC that runs Windows 7, that folder is not on the external hard drive. Can someone please explain to me what is going on?

A file called LOST.DIR on another external hard drive keeps popping up as well. I delete it but then when I reinsert the external hard drive there that little folder is again. Any suggestions on this also?

Thank you.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
it is very simple
they are normally hidden folders in windows. Your tablet uses android OS which is Linux based and sees hidden folders by default
nothing at all to worry about and perfectly normal
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
Ah ok thank you Derek. A computer person told me that the $Recycler.Bin folder was a virus.
I have ticked the box in Windows to show me all hidden files, but even so it does not come up when I look at that same external drive.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
it isn't a virus but a super hidden file in windows
Every disc has a hidden recycle bin but windows only shows the primary recycle bin on the main system drive. The others can only be seen when outside of windows, either with recovery console or by using a Linux OS
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
Thank you for explaining that dvk01. :)

Lately my PC on startup is doing another odd thing, it just did it now again. Black screen and then the message "X300XT BIOS PIN 113-A33437-102". I then have to force a shut down and start it back up again and then it is ok. Are you able to tell me what this message means?

Thanks
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
that is generally a message from bios that it can't find the disc to boot to
often that is due to a flat motherboard(bios/cmos) battery, which will need replacing & bios reset to default

That seems to be a common Problem/error message on Dell computers
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
That really upsets me. This PC man and his website claim they are professionals. He took away my PC, charged me alot of money and said that everything was tip top all brand new. But now you are telling me this. I am very upset. :( What do I need to do?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
you need to change the bios battery & see if that cures it, in many cases it will do, but in some the message can mean that the hard disc is failing or some other hardware issue, or that the computer is set to boot from a non existent disc first & it isn't looking for the proper disc
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
I see, when I had my PC fixed by the PC guy he took out one of the HD saying it was corrupted, he also put in a new hard drive. He cleaned the inside and that was back in October. I contacted him yesterday but he was not very friendly about it all and said he would charge me again if he came to fix it. I have never had this problem/error message in all the years that I have had a computer so I find it weird to now have it after he has fiddled with my PC. He is also the one to say that the Recycler folder was a virus. But you and a friend of mine tell me that that is not the case. So I wonder how much does he know about PC's?

It is quite easy to change the CMOS battery? And where can I buy that part?
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
Also my PC was running Windows XP and this PC man put Windows 7 on it, could that cause a problem also?
 

Airmiles

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
419
Ok well I will have a look at the link you gave me. Will see where I can buy this battery.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
They are commonly available in the US where stores have a large selection of batteries. I am guessing the same in the UK at the local chemist or supermarket.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top