1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Red Circle with White X

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Cez77, Sep 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cez77

Cez77 Thread Starter

Hello,

I am a college student and today when I woke up I logged onto my computer and it turns out I cannot use google. When I search and click on a result I am redircted to another search site with the URL go.google. My room mate was online last night and must of picked this virus up somewhere.

I've run AVG and Spybot and neither show any infections. I googled this on my laptop (which I am on now) and read about software call Malwarebytes. I download this, put it on a USB drive and went to put it on my desktop and I come to find that the computer has froze up. Now I cannot log on in normal mode so I have to boot in safe mode. When I do this and instal the new software I find that I cannot update the program because the computer cannot connect to the internet.

I do not know what to do. There is so much important stuff on my computer that has not been backed up to the chaos involving my move to college. I have never used HJT and do not have it on my desktop nor can I get it because I cannot connect to the internet.

Please... any help would be amazing.

EDIT: At the moment I am running avg in safe mode and Malwarebytes without the update in safe mode.

2. cybertech

cybertech Retired Moderator

Hi, Welcome to TSG!!

Click here to download HJTInstall.exe
    • Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop.
    • Doubleclick on the HJTInstall.exe icon on your desktop.
    • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
    • Click on Install.
    • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.