1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Red Eye Tool Photoshop CS2

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by ebony, Jun 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    I can't seem to find the Red Eye Tool in my Photoshop CS2. Can someone help me find where it is in the tool section?
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    ... Here ...
     

    Attached Files:

    • CLIP.gif
      CLIP.gif
      File size:
      18.5 KB
      Views:
      3,290
  3. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    Yhanks Noyb. I'm an idiot!!
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    NO ... You just didn't look as hard as I did.
    I normally do it manually (select the red then turn it off) ... so I had to go looking.
     
  5. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    How do you do it manually? I tried using the red eye tool but the eyes look terrible.
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    Magic wand ... select the red ... (or the white in my cat)
    And repaint it.
    Then some touch up is required .. blurring .. smudging ..etc..
    I'd think the red eye tool should work the same as my magic wand .. initially for people.

    Sometimes I use the elliptical marquee tool .. select the red .. and redraw it.
    This requires knowing the shortcut controls for the marquee tool.

    Can you attach a cropped sample (before n after) we can play with ???

    If you have a high speed net ... 25MB video in quicktime ...
    http://2noyb.home.insightbb.com/RedEyeTool.mov
     
  7. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    Thanks Noyb. I'm off to my cottage for the weekend so I'll get back to you next weekend. Meanwhile I'll attach the photo I'm working on.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    Not enough picture resolution to see and work on the red eye ....
    That's why I said to crop it (to just the eyes) ... then attach a higher res. pic with more PPI.

    Need to clean up and remove the video .. let me know if/when you get it.
    Have a nice weekend.
     
  9. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    Off with their heads !!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    :D :D :D

    Couldn't get any of the automatics to work ... Probably not enough definition.
    So ... I redrew the eyes on Layer 2 using the Brush Tool and choosing the brush size/color.

    Initially .. used a lower opacity so I could see thru the Eyes Layer while painting it.
    And using the Clone tool .. Made some repairs on layer 1

    Here's the Photoshop file with Layers ....
    http://2noyb.home.insightbb.com/Eyes.psd

    Could've worked longer but this should give you an idea for eyes repairs.
     
  11. Blaine Dixon

    Blaine Dixon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    My Red eye tool vanished!
     
  12. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    That's a great job Noyb! How do I reattach the heads to the bodies?
     
  13. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,852
    Guillotining their heads was a way to cut the file size down to attach a picture here ..
    And possibly show you how to manually fix eyes.

    You will not be able to Insert the eyes (attach the heads) because I probably tinkered with the color adjust …
    So the insert won’t match anymore.

    It will probably be easier to rework the entire original.
    If the jpeg file size of the original picture/scan greater than ~300k ….
    I’ll send you my Email Address so you can Email me the original.

    Let me know if you want my personal Email Address.
    Will need a higher resolution picture than the one you attached in post #7
    The Original will be the best.
     
  14. ebony

    ebony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    865
    Thank you very much for the offer Noyb but I managed to fix the photo myself. It was a little difficult because of the poor quality of the original.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/581491

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice