1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Red X in Wireless in Network Connections

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brett10s2, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brett10s2

    brett10s2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    This morning, out of nowhere, I lost connection to the wireless. I cannot find any wireless networks, which is obviously incorrect. The switch is plugged in. I've google and googled today with no resolution. I can plug a cat-5 in and run fine. I can connect to the wireless with other machines fine. Something is up with this computer. I'm desperate for other ideas.
    I use Virtual Boxes on here and see that there is a "Virtual Box Host Only Network" that I've never noticed. I've disabled this but my wireless is still not finding anything. Any ideas? I'll screen shot anything that anyone can think of that might help.

    Thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    What is listed in Device Manager under Network Adapters? What, if any, warnings or errors anywhere in Device Manager?

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. brett10s2

    brett10s2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    There are no noticeable issues in the device manager. I tried updating driver and I also tried uninstalling the driver and testing after Windows re-installed it. Here are the results from IPConfig. I'm connected to the internet via the Ethernet/Cat5

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Pat>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jay
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-BE-81-17-24
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7006:cb0e:e38b:8913%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.68(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 05, 2011 3:28:48 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 06, 2011 4:16:22 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268443066
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-A7-54-3E-00-24-BE-81-17-24

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:18fb:3089:9c43:1e9f(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18fb:3089:9c43:1e9f%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the wireless switched on? Usually there is a LED that indicates the wireless state.
     
  5. brett10s2

    brett10s2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, It's on. The light is not on. I don't know if that light is supposed to be on when the switch is in the on position or when i'm connected to a wireless network (which I'm obviously not). Could this indicate a hardware problem, since the light is not on?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, it could definitely indicate a hardware problem. If you can access the wireless adapter by removing a cover on the bottom of the laptop remove and carefully and firmly reinsert it three or four times. That will fix any possible looseness or contacts corrosion problems.

    Sometimes there is also a software program that can be used to turn the wireless on/off (for example, I have HP Wireless Assistant on this laptop). If you have such a utility make sure it doesn't have the wireless off.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029849

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice