1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Redesignate Default Drive

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by photoguy, Oct 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I have a notebook computer using W98. I have taken out the floppy drive and added a second hard drive. This is working well EXCEPT I can not keep W98 from looking for A: as a default after which it goes into limbo. It will not let me redesignate my CDROM drive as A.

    Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.

    Carl
     
  2. AKA Arizona

    AKA Arizona

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,905
    Some where in your BIOS settings you may find the option to redesignate your A: drive as the new hard drive most laptops do it automaticlly but some still have to be told. And you will never get A: drive to be a CD rom its a winders (no typo) thing. The closes I have gottin was B: drive but it was mapped as a network drive.
     
  3. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Dave,

    I checked my BIOS settings. It reflects that there is no A: drive but does not allow me any options except for what the boot drive will be.

    I am going to have to solve this in Windows if I do at all.

    Thanks for your input.
     
  4. AKA Arizona

    AKA Arizona

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,905
    What type of laptop are you using?
     
  5. photoguy

    photoguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Sager - As far as I know they are only sold through ads in "Computer Shopper". I've had it several years and it has been a good value for the investment.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169238

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice