Reduce space between sections of report

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Is there any way to reduce the vertical spacing between adjacent sections of a report form? E.g., between a group header and the detail that follows it? I can't find anything in the form properties that let's you control it.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
Umm... not sure I follow you. I assume you're talking Access? Can't you just slide the grey bars up in design view, past any unused space?

If you're talking about empty data controls, and therefore conditional shrinking, try the CanShrink property. It must be set for each control that might be null (having no value), and then also for the section itself.

Report sections can only shrink if a whole row shrinks, so be careful about putting shrinkables next to unshrinkables. Well, don't be careful, just don't expect the row to shrink ;)!
 

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Down: None of this is the problem. The section bars are all up against the bottom borders of the fields in the preceeding section. Sections and fields have all been set to 'yes' for 'can grow' and 'can shrink'.

I'm trying to squeeze as much information on the report as possible, because it's already long enough. Access has always put more space between sections that it needs to. It's hard to illustrate here because it's somewhat exaggerated, but imagine a series of numbers in the detail section, followed by a group footer that totals them. It looks like this:

$25.00
$35.00
$50.00

Total: $110.00

As I say, ALL the sections are closed down vertically against the fields in them (absolutely NO empty vertical space in any section), but Access puts an unnecessarily large amount of space between the sections.

It's been this way since Access 2, and I don't think there's any way to reduce it.... but I thought I'd ask anyway.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
Don, I must beg to differ. There is absolutely zero space between my controls from a header to a detail, or from a detail to a footer.

There is no reason to turn on CanGrow unless necessary. Also turn it off in each section unless there's a growing control. That's probably the source of your problem, but I'd have to know more about your report configuration and the data inside it before I could say for sure.

I rarely get stroppy in posts, but here goes: Frankly, I don't much like the tone of your posts. You are wrong, and you are doing something wrong. Saying "it's always been like that" is only proof that you've not looked hard enough for a solution. We're all here to find solutions, however tricky the questions; I tackle some (much meaner) Access stuff than this on a daily basis with people here, and we work it out, together, and using a combination of curiosity and guesswork to do so. If you're not willing to work through the steps to solve the problem, then please don't ask for our help.

Here is a report with zero space between sections:
<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=283528">
 

Attachments

DKTaber

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
2,871
Originally posted by downwitchyobadself
Don, I must beg to differ. There is absolutely zero space between my controls from a header to a detail, or from a detail to a footer.

There is no reason to turn on CanGrow unless necessary. Also turn it off in each section unless there's a growing control. That's probably the source of your problem, but I'd have to know more about your report configuration and the data inside it before I could say for sure.

I rarely get stroppy in posts, but here goes: Frankly, I don't much like the tone of your posts. You are wrong, and you are doing something wrong. Saying "it's always been like that" is only proof that you've not looked hard enough for a solution. We're all here to find solutions, however tricky the questions; I tackle some (much meaner) Access stuff than this on a daily basis with people here, and we work it out, together, and using a combination of curiosity and guesswork to do so. If you're not willing to work through the steps to solve the problem, then please don't ask for our help.
It appears to have been the "Can grow" that was doing me in. If I take it off, adjacent sections on the one report I tried do seem to close up. However, I have to have one field at the top of most group footers set to "Can Grow", or make it's height more than I think is necessary to house a simple dashed line ("-------------"); it's the line separating the detail entries from the total. If I make it not much higher than the dashes, and "Can Grow" is 'no', the line disappears on viewing the report. There is obviously some minimum height below which one cannot go even when the value in the control has nearly no height itself (like dashes).

I'm sorry you feel that my messages suggest I'm not trying to fix these things myself. On some problems, I have spent days trying various things to finally get something to work. On this issue, I had overlooked the line control (=iif(Count(*))>1, "-----"), and I apologize for that. My approach to solving software problems is not perfect
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
I understand that fixing something that doesn't work can be frustrating, I too still pass entire days trying to figure out why something doesn't work. But I rarely find that there isn't an answer, and that's why I help people out here: so that they can find out faster.

As I told you a while back, a control won't shrink if its value isn't null, the literal no-value, which is not the same thing as having "no value assigned". The control you mention is actually not shrinking, because your control source is not right--it just isn't printing the line. In order to shrink, the control source needs to be
Code:
=iif(Count(*))>1, "-----",Null)
Note that your version was missing the falsepart of iif. It's true that leaving it out assigns no value; you need to assign it a value of null. And remember that the section containing the line must be set to yes for CanShrink as well. I think you'll find that changing the control source will make that blank space disappear.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top