1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reference Fields - Word 2003

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Babypops, May 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Babypops

    Babypops Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have set up a .dot file which uses reference fields. I have set up the input field as a drop down box with bold text.

    My query is when the ref field populates the first word is bolded the second one is not.

    Can anyone assist?

    Cheers!
     
  2. dbilleaud

    dbilleaud

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I'm losing the text format (font, point size, bolding) after the first word of the text. THe text was generated from the Drop down list form field, then the {REF} field was used to display the drop down selection in another part of the Word document. Keep me posted as I'm looking for the same problem resolution.
     
  3. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,175
    Welcome to the forum. Can you e-mail me the file, so I can look at it? When I setup a drop-down form field via the "Forms" toolbar all text within stays bold all the time. Do you have the form protected as well?
     
  4. dbilleaud

    dbilleaud

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Now it's not the Drop down form field that is losing the format after the first word, it's happening when you use a {REF} field with the bookmark name from the drop down form field. For Example: {REF fldCompany \*MERGEFORMAT} where fldCompany is the drop down form field name.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,175
    I did not recall a cross-reference maintaining formatting. Have you tried making a style and applying it to both? You could also setup the style to be applied via a hotkey as well.
     
  6. dbilleaud

    dbilleaud

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Tried applying a Style to the reference field {REF}, but it's still not formatting a multi-word field the same. By the way, the {REF} field is in a table, if that matters.
     
  7. Evan Mathias

    Evan Mathias

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Try { REF Title \* CharFormat }
    it uses the first character to format the rest of the field.
     
  8. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,731
    When formatting a field, select the ENTIRE area AROUND the field including the space before and after--not just the field. Also make sure you're formatting the field in the TEMPLATE and not in the current document...
     
  9. dbilleaud

    dbilleaud

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Evan, you are the master! That did the trick!
     
  10. Babypops

    Babypops Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Guys, sorry I haven't responded to your posts I've changed jobs, and it tooke me a while to find my posting on this sight:rolleyes: (didn't write it down). Any how. It took our IT guy half a day to try to sort our the drop down with the link to the Ref field. He ended up taking it out of the document all together, formatting it and putting it back in. Sounded like a big hassle to me. Anyhow, looks like Evan has the fix. Thank you Evan, can't wait to go back to work and give it a try (as i'm fixing all their templates now too!).
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/579501