1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

reformatted hard drive---problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by arthurx1234, Jan 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arthurx1234

    arthurx1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    After a major problem with a virus i reformatted my hard drive.
    since my pc was "preloaded" with windows i didnt have a backup disk, so i borrowed one.
    i have reinstalled windows xp pro but i am unable to download/install service pack 1 as microsoft inform me that the product key i used was invalid.
    I would appreciate some help.
    cheers
    arthur.
     
  2. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
    Sounds like you've been ripped off, like most people, in the great Big Brother, we know what you're looking at, porno scam. I would go back to where you purchased the computer from.
     
  3. familyman2

    familyman2

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Sounds like the windows disc you borrowed was a copy. Thats why product key doesn't work.
     
  4. arthurx1234

    arthurx1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    ok--so i have a genuine xp pro disc
    can i format my hard drive and use that to boot from??
    aslo--how long will winows keep working before iit shuts down someone told me 30 days???

    arthur
     
  5. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
    You just boot direct to the XP CD and can partition and install from the setup screen.

    30 days before registration is due.

    If this is to get data off other partitions it might not work if you have set security permissions though. Not sure about that I have to say. Still learning on that one.

    Does this genuine XP Pro CD belong to you now? Does it have SP2 incorporated? If not you would be advised to slipstream SP2 together with the XP CD using AutoStreamer 1·0 to make the install much quicker, and cleaner too.
     
  6. qwerty155

    qwerty155

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Yes, its thirty days. Basically for the single lience copies of XP, when you install it sends the reg code to microsoft. It you attempt to reinstall on another PC with the same code, it will refuse that licence key. If you choose the 'active later' option, it remind you constantly then it will pack up after 30 days.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,697
    First Name:
    James
    Which cd-key are you using? The one you are using from your old machine or the one you borrowed the CD from?
     
  8. familyman2

    familyman2

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    49


    I intend reinstlling windows xp on new hdd What is AutoStreamer 1.0 you mention. I have already downloaded sp2 to cd to instal.
     
  9. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
    I use AutoStreamer to merge the core files from Windows 2000 & XP CDs together with the Service Pack, which then updates the files on the XPCD and makes an .ISO file from which you can then burn an updated XPSP2 CD.

    With NERO Burning this is the top icon. Choose File, New... CD-ROM(ISO)

    (Cancel the Wizard if it appears)

    AutoStreamer takes about 25 minutes to make the .ISO file, and I find you can burn at full speed to a x42 CDR.

    The new CD is bootable, and works just like the original.

    If AutoStreamer won't pick up the SP2 pack off the CD, copy it to the hard drive of another machine and do the job there.

    I still have to add the 15 latest updates to my system, but it is better than having to add all 38 from SP1.

    NOTE: Sometimes AutoStreamer won't pick up on the .exe file on the Free Windows SP2 CD used to install SP2 to systems without slipstreaming. You just have to copy the entire contents of the CD to a Folder on the hard-drive and point AutoStreamer to that location.

    (Can't wait for SP3) :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice