reformatting hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

llbyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2003
Messages
6
i would like to reformat the hard drive on my dell latitude laptop. after typing in "format c:" i get the following message: "the type of the file system is ntfs" it then asks to proceed with format. when i respond yes, it says "format cannot be run because the volume is in use by another process. format may run if this volume is dismounted first. all opened handles to this volume would then be invalid. would you like to force a dismount on this volume? y/n." when i respond yes, it says " cannot lock the drive. the volume is still in use." how do i get around this? thanks.
 

Squashman

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Are you going to reinstall XP or 2000. Because you can reformat the drive during the install. You cannot format a drive while it is in use. That is only logical. How can it perform a task if it has to use files on that partition.
 

Squashman

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Originally posted by llbyer:
i will reinstall 2000.
Then you got no problems. Boot off of your Windows 2000 cd and format the partition from there. There is a nice tutorial on installing Windows on http://www.blackviper.com but his site seems to be down right now. Maybe it was located on the east coast.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
3
When you are getting ready to install 2000, go into bios setup and set your system to boot from cd. When your system boots you should have to press the space key (sometimes any key) to boot from cd, after that just follow the screen prompts. I recommend using the ntfs system on the formatting, you will encounter less to no problems that way. Personally, I find that changing the format from ntfs to fat32 system to be problematic. Hope that helps.
 

llbyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2003
Messages
6
oops. forgot that i don't have a 2000 install cd. i have a 98 boot cd and then a 2000 upgrade cd. can i still do what you're suggesting?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top