Reformatting Question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ecko69x

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
451
Ok I want to reformat my computer. Will it work with a Windows XP disc that says "upgrade" on it? Or will I need the full version or something.

On the side of the box it says:

This enclosed program will search your hard disk/ or CD to confimr your eligibility for this upgrade. The software will install only if you are a licensed user of one of the following products:

Windows 98
Windows 98 2nd Edition
Windows 2000.

I have the full version of Windows XP Home Edition.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
7
That doesn't sound like the right windows install disk to me - that may be a service pack upgrade or something? Why not put the disc in and check it out and see whats on it. It is worth making sure before you go for the big 4mat!
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
Do you have a full version or an upgrade?

If you are using an upgrade version installation CD, you'll also need a CD with an older operating system ( Windows 2000, 98SE or ME ) to complete the install. Also Make sure you have the 25-digit product code for the Windows XP CD.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
3,775
The upgrade version is in fact the full version with a discounted price. The discount is based on having already paid for a previous version of Windows, hence the installation hook that checks for a previous version of Windows.

If it doesn't find a previous version of Windows after searching your hard drive(s), it will ask for an installation CD of a previous version to be placed in the CD drive.

Other than that, It has the all the capabilities of a full version CD.
 

ecko69x

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
451
So I don't need a Full version xp disc? The upgrade disc will handle that?
 

techkid

David
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,339
If you have a Windows 98, NT, ME or 2000 CD, you can reformat your computer safely. It will prompt you when it needs the given CD.

Please note, I think the CD has to be a retail version of the OS (not too sure about OEM versions). Image and recovery CDs, though, I'm pretty confident that they won't work, but I don't know.

I would wait for a more informed response.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top