Reformatting...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Was wondering on how to do it, like how to bring up the ms-dos prompt and what to type in. I am on windows xp (updated from windoes 98se) and have the windows 98 SE for PC's without windows cd to install after i refomat
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Boot with a Win98 disk.
Run FDISK and delete any non-DOS partitions
RePartition, reboot and format.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Okay, what if my BIOS wont recognize my CD-ROM....is there any other way?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
If your BIOS won't recognize the CD ROM then neither DOS nor any operating system will.

How did you get XP on the computer if the BIOS didn't recognize the CD drive.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
I got my mobo replaced and then the CD-ROM wasn't showing up.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
That would have been good information to know from the first post.

It could be as simple of a thing as the CD ROM cables not being firmly attached at either end or jumpers not being configured correctly.

You might check with whoever put in the new motherboard to see what they did wrong.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
It's not recognized in the BIOS, but when i boot up from the bootdisk it says CD-ROM not not found or some such.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Yes, you have already said it is not recognized in the BIOS.

Have you tried reseating all the cables at both ends and go back into the CMOS settings. It could also simpy be disabled there as well.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Sorry for that minor stupidity, I mean i got it to be recognized in the BIOS and in My Computer, but when i use the bootdisk it say something like CD-ROM Driver not found.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
What CD ROM driver are you using and how was the boot disk made?

If it is not a fairly generic CD ROM, you can either try and find the specific DOS drivers or just get a new one. They are not that expensive at all.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
It's reformatting now, thanks for all your help and I'll keep you updated on further details.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top