reg edit

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Hi guys,
I recently took your advice to remove things I will not need in the start up menu and it worked great. But I seem to remember reading that there are a few things in there that should be allowed on start up Could you tell me which ones I need, to have on start up,as I went a bit mad once and took almost everything off.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Scanregistry
LoadPowerProfile (if you use power save features, there will be 2 of them)



Those are about the only 2 I would say need to be there, but some say that you should have systray as well.


Take a look at http://www2.whidbey.com/djdenham/Uncheck.htm for a pretty good list of msconfig items.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Gusman
These are the bare minimum. There may be other that you should let start in your startup group listed in Msconfig.
*statemgr (WinME only), systray, scanregistry, loadpowerprofiles (both), Tweakui if there, and any antivirus/firewall programs you have.
You could always go to Msconfig and take a screen shot of your startup list and let us look if there are others that should be checked.
Dave
 
Joined
May 6, 2000
Messages
4,117
You need scanregistry, and you need any like antivirus or video or sound programs that are needed.

If you are running ME then there are some that you need for ME. Check my site, I have a list of what most are and what they do.


http://www.rselby.com/Windows.html#6
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Thanks guys, the only prob is, scan registry and load power profile are not there, they are in Run_Disabled in the registry. I dont quite know how they are there, but is it easy to get them back???. Also as I am new here, how do I take a screen shot and send it to you, I am not sure, is it just like copy and paste or a bit more?.
Thanks for your time.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
OK, GUSMAN, instead of viewing them through regedit, go into msconfig. same w3ay, Start, Run, type in msconfig, hit enter. Click on Startup tab.


To take a screen shot, with the window you want to display active, press Alt + Print Scrn, then open an imaging software. Paint if you have no other. Right-click and Paste. Save it to your desktop, and when you reply, you just go below the reply box, and click the Browse button next to Attach.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
When you uncheck something in msconfig > startup tab it is moved into the Run- folder in the registry. Checking it moves it back to the Run folder. This is how msconfig is used for convenient troubleshooting.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
No you haven't, I'm afraid.

We see only half of your msconfig window. Please expand it so it fills the screen, and repost.

I think you may also have unchecked some things you shouldn't have... :D
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
ok guys, this is the best I can get it. it just misses the bottom one a bit which is "microsoft find fast", hope this helps. I see one on there "kremlin" I dont know what that is, whether it was on pc before I bought it, but I cannot find it in the registry to delete it. anyway let me know what you think.
Gus
 

Attachments

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Gus,

Looks pretty good.

2 things though:

1) ScanRegistry is missing, and it should be there.
When you start your computer successfully, the Windows Registry Checker tool creates a backup of system files and registry configuration information, which you can restore in case your registry gets messed up.

Download the attached scanreg.txt, and save (rename) as scanreg.reg.

Doubleclick to have it merged into the registry.

2) You have a Zonealarm file there: Minilog.
Do i take it you no longer have ZoneAlarm installed?


Greetz,
 

Attachments

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
3) You also have a required Norton Antivirus file unchecked there: Script blocking.

I suggest you recheck it.

Good luck,
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hope you haven't tried to run the reg file yet, for Windows would have refused it for not being a Registry script.

I forgot to remove the 'bold' tags on either end...
Duh!

It's safe to import now.

Greetz,
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Guys, it is all sorted, thank you all for your help. It is nice to find people with the time to help others. I dont know a great deal, but I am good at central heating problems.Maybe I should start up my own website, lol. seriously tho thanks again.
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
It did refuse a few times tony but it went in the end, (must have been after you altered it). cheers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top