1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Registering a domain

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by rpndt1, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rpndt1

rpndt1 Thread Starter

There are so many domain register sites out there with varying prices. Does price really affect the ability to reserve domain space (www.namehere.com)? Some sites offer the service for 4.95 while others go up to a lot more. And once we register, is that domain ours forever or is there still a charge?

Is registering a domain the same as web hosting (and accompanying email, ftp service, etc.)?
    I can't get all this straight.

And yes, I'm a newbie when it comes to website development etc.

Thanks in Advance

-R

2. jd_957

jd_957 Banned

3. Heatsink

Heatsink

Registering a domain simply reserves that domain name for your use. Once you register your domain name then nobody else can use it.

Domain name registration is a renewable fee, usually on a yearly basis. If you fail to renew your domain, then it becomes available for others to purchase.

There are many reasons why different domain registrars have varying prices. Some of them offer value added services such as DNS, Domain name parking, renewal notices and the like and therefore charge more.

On the other hand, some of them are certainly out to scam you. Read the fine print VERY carefully before you buy a domain from someone. There have been cases where the customer thought they were purchasing a domain name, but in reality they were instructing the company to buy it on their behalf and rent it to them. At the end of the day, they did not own their domain name and company that sold it to them did. They raised their 'rental' fees as they saw fit and caused quite a bit of grief.