1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

REGISTRY eDITOR

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Sirius, Jan 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sirius

    Sirius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    I had a problem with my homepage and found the fix here (THANK YOU ALL) Now when i start my pc this comes up
    REGISTRY EDITOR:
    Cannot import c:/windows/system/rad2138.tmp. Error open file,there my be a disk or file system error. OK This is the file i got rid off to fix my homepage problem , .My quiestion is how can i stop that error from coming up or stop it ,looking for that file??
     
  2. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Something is telling windows to import that file. It no longer exists and therefore you get that message. If you get the message on the dark screen before windows takes over, it is being called from autoexec.bat. Have a look there first. If you don't find anything in there
    download and run Startup log . Here's the link. Run it and then copy and paste the results in a post here if you need help analyzing the results.

    http://home.earthlink.net/~rmbox/Reticulated/Toys.html
     
  3. Sirius

    Sirius Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Tried looking at autoexec.bat file but don't understand it its in dos when i open them??? I never worked with dos. I have that start up log. but for me to paste it here , its 10 pages long Will it take them ? I'm coping and pasting to micrsoft 4.0 Is this the right way?
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  5. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Don't worry about it. To look at autoexec.bat, you open it in Notepad. If you don't understand it you are in good company. It's not my favorite either. At any rate, Startup Log will show the contents of your Autoexec.bat. 10 pages? What I do is run Startup log and it opens with the results.
    I then go to the toolbar and select edit >select all
    Press CTRL+c to copy

    Open a post here and paste it in.
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    It'll probably will show up in Msconfig/Startup, as it usually starts up from the registry.

    Go to Start/run, and type Msconfig.

    Go to the Startup tab, and check whether there's an item resembling this:

    "OPQFile"="C:\\WINDOWS\\regedit.exe /s C:\\WINDOWS\\SYSTEM\\rad2138.tmp"

    Uncheck it, click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

    Good luck,
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65610

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice