1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Registry Error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Hamill, Nov 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hamill

    Hamill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    Windows Me
    PC Chipps M810 Mother Board, T-Bird 1GHZ
    256 MB Ram, 32 MB Allocated for video
    DVD
    On board sound, on board LAN, AMR Modem.
    CDRW

    When booting the system sometimes I get the following error:
    Windows encountered an error acessing the registry.
    Windows will repair the registry for you and restart.

    I will get this error maybe 3 or 4 times in a row and then not have it after several restarts and then it will reoccur. How can I find out what is causing the error and what can I do to fix it.
    Any help would be great.
    Hamill
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Did you receive a Windows disk so you might reinstall windows?


    Savvy :)
     
  3. Hamill

    Hamill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    I have reinstalled and the errors continue. Here is some more details:
    I get the error twice and then I dont get it once and then I get it twice and then dont get it once. This duplicates and repeats the same cycle every time.
    Hamill
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  5. DonW

    DonW

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    94
    I don't know if you can do this with WinME, but I know in Win98 you can boot to the DOS prompt and type "scanreg /restore". You will be presented with a number of older registry copies from up to about a week before. Try restoring an older registry. You might lose any programs you installed over the last few days but if the system works fine afterwards, you'll know it was your registry that was corrupt. If you still get the error it's likely then that you actually DO have bad memory. Just a thought
     
  6. Hamill

    Hamill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    This is a new install so I can't revert to an old reg. I think I might have figured it out though. It was a shared memory setting in bios. You can set to agp or pci. Switched over to agp and all seems good hopefully.
    Thanks,
    Hamill
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60057

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice