1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Registry hive corrupted, restore disk doesn't work.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Pzychotix, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    My computer encountered:
    STOP: c0000218 {Registry File Failure}

    I've tried using the Windows XP CD to use the recovery tool, but it just reboots whenever I try. Any other ideas?
     
  2. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
  3. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    One of the first sites I saw on the issue.

    Only problem is that my computer completely reboots no matter what, before I get to do anything. Setup will examine my comp specs, and then as it's going into the usual setup program, it'll reboot instead.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Exactly how far into the process do you get?
     
  5. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Not sure how to describe it.

    You know how Windows XP setup has a blue background? I stop right before that happens.
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Sounds like a hardware problem at this point. Did you have any problems before the registry failure?

    Try going into BIOS setup and choosing either the default settings or the setup default settings, if you have those options.

    Do a check of all your connections, be sure that memory is seated it its slots, check that the drive cables are in, and be sure the graphics card is firmly in its slot.

    You can try an easy memory check with one of these:

    Microsoft Memory Test (floppy or CD ISO image)
    Memtest86

    Do you have a floppy drive?
     
  7. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    That's what I was thinking, but hoping wasn't the problem.

    Been having some troubles lately. Electricity got shut off and the memory's been wonky ever since. I ordered new RAM and the computer's been still wonky with that. I've done Memtest86 on both the old and new RAM, both passed fine though.
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Did you try BIOS defaults?
     
  9. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Nope. Sadly I'm away from the troublesome comp at the moment. I'll try it later.
     
  10. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I tried resetting the BIOS back to fail-safe defaults, and now the computer just resets while Windows is loading. It's as if whenever my comp hits a certain point, it'll hit the reboot button.
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I didn't think Windows was working at all. What happened to the registry failure?

    Can you boot from the CD and start setup now or enter the Recovery Console?
     
  12. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Nah, it gets to where it was about before. It's that little loading bar that shows up while Windows is pre-loading. Then it reboots. I don't get to see the login screen at all.

    I grabbed a knoppix cd from a friend though. Thankfully that loaded. Trying to do the regular repair now.
     
  13. Pzychotix

    Pzychotix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Unfortunately, through some sheer point of brilliance, my Windows partition is NTFS, and my knoppix cd doesn't support writing to it.

    Any other ideas?
     
  14. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Are your trying to re-install windows using a Knoppix live disc?
     
  15. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    I'm puzzled, too. What does Knoppix have to do with Windows?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/645756

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice