Registry Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dre

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2002
Messages
5
Could someone help me please???? When I start my computer everything seems to load up fine. When I enter my password I get a box that say Registry Problem
Windows encountered an error accessing the system registry. You should restore the registry now and restart........
and it has a button at the bottom that say restore from backup and restart. I am unable to click this button. I tried to restart my computer and change the boot sequence to start from the A drive and it will not. I have a floppy rescue registry disk but I do not know how to get the computer to read it. Can anyone help me fix this problem?:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Dré,

What version of Windows are you running, please?
 

Dre

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2002
Messages
5
I think I celebrated to fast. The registry problem is gone but now it is having the blue screen fatal error message over and over.:(
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Sorry to hear that.

What is the exact text of your fatal exception?
 

Dre

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2002
Messages
5
it says
A fatal exception OE has occurred at 0028:C002Ba94 in VXD VCache (01)
+ ooooo408. The current application will be terminated.....
Press any Key......
Press CTRL+ALT+DEL......
Press any key to continue.

Is this computer dying?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Bad RAM can cause both that reg error and the vcache error. Go here and Download Doc Memory, Run it to test your RAM or try swapping it out if you have more than one stick of RAM to isolate the problem.
www.simmtester.com
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Vcache vxd errors are often caused by faulty RAM.

Try checking with DocMemory or a similar app.

Other things to try are:

- Disable external cache:

If your CPU utilizes external cache attempt to disable it temporarily to verify if it is causing your GPF error messages. If available you will be able to disable your external cache through CMOS (in the BIOS).

- lower your Video Resolution a little to see whether that makes a difference.

Good luck,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top