1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Registry/Virus Issues! Set associations in control panel???

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Holly1213, Apr 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Holly1213

    Holly1213 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Last night I recieved a message from an "Anti Virus" program I don't believe I really have (I always run McAfee) this message said my computer was infected with several virus' and asked if I wanted to clean them up. I left everything pulled up on my desktop and this morning that message had disapeared.

    This morning my computer wouldn't pull up my programs correctly, instead prompted me to another window asking which program I would like to "open with". So I researched online a little bit, and what I found recommended a registry cleaner, I have "CCleaner" so I ran the scan and removed all issues that pulled up.

    Now, my computer wont let me open programs at all, instead I'm getting this message.... "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Associations control panel." I've tried to figure out what this means and I'm lost. I think the more I tinker with it the more damage I'm doing though.

    I also read that redownloading windows is a good idea, but like a dummy I don't have anything backed up and I'd rather not lose all my music, pictures, etc. I'm not the greatest at computers or their programming for that matter, but I'm not totally computer illiterate.. so if you can help me please respond answer as simply as possible. I need this issue resolved asap.

    Thank you for your time!!

    Much appreciated!

    Holly Girl
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    Hiya and welcome to Tech Support Guy :)

    Please download exeHelper to your desktop.
    If your AV program throws up a warning about the program, ignore the warning. Some AV's flag this program because of how it works... that's all.
    • Double-click on exeHelper.com to run the fix.
    • A black window should pop up, press any key to close once the fix is completed.
    • Post the contents of exehelperlog.txt ( Will be created in the directory where you ran exeHelper.com and should open at the end of the scan)
    Note : If the window shows a message that says "Error deleting file", please re-run the program before posting a log - and post the two logs together ( they will both be in the one file ).

    In your next reply, please submit:

    exehelperlog.txt

    eddie
     
  3. Holly1213

    Holly1213 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for answering to my posts. I kinda' understand what your response meant. But I thought I would check to see what the out come will be? Reason being, I have NO files backed up on my computer and im scared I will lose everything I have on my PC. Is there a chance my files will be erased?

    Thanks again!

    Holly
     
  4. Holly1213

    Holly1213 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Oh.. p.s. My friend Aaron came over to look at my computer the other day and found out that all of my short cuts are not working. As well as my CONTROL+ALT+DELETE feature. and from my START menu, was trying to enter something in ACCESSORIES>RUN and that would not work. He was worried that the virus (or whatever is attacking my computer) was in my programming. I thought that might be helpful to know in my situation.
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    You were saying at the beginning that you were having problems with programs not opening. The exeHelper.com will help repair the file associations, as the virus will have changed these, to stop them opening. The main reason they do this, is so that antivirus programs cannot be run.

    Once we've repaired this part, we can then work on the next :)

    eddie
     
  6. Holly1213

    Holly1213 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hiya! I clicked on the link you left for me in your original message. It popped up a box giving me the option to RUN or SAVE. I clicked RUN, then a little box popped up from my McAfee stating a trojan horse was found and deleted. Did I do that right?
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    Looks like Mcafee targeted it, thinking its bad :(

    Can you disable Mcafee and then save the file to the desktop, and try and run it again?

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan.
    • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re-enable the protection again afterwards before connecting to the Internet.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/992391