Reinstall network adapter

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GavinHawkins

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
3
I can’t get any networks and it says to reinstall my network adapter, but the files that YouTube videos say to update, aren’t on my computer, I connected a lan cord from my modem to my computer and the WiFi still doesn’t find any networks, I’m not sure what to do, can anyone help me out?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,758
it says to reinstall my network adapter
What is "it"?

Does "it" really say to reinstall the network adapter, or does it suggest to reinstall the network driver?

What (brand and model) is the network adapter?
 

GavinHawkins

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
3
What is "it"?

Does "it" really say to reinstall the network adapter, or does it suggest to reinstall the network driver?

What (brand and model) is the network adapter?
What is "it"?

Does "it" really say to reinstall the network adapter, or does it suggest to reinstall the network driver?

What (brand and model) is the network adapter?
this is what the computer says
 

Attachments

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
106,844
Is this a laptop? If so, you may have inadvertently switched the adapter off. Some laptops have physical switches that will disable the adapter. Others may be disabled in BIOS. Still others may be controlled with a <Fn> key combination (usually an icon of a radio tower). Or, have you put it in airplane mode?
 

GavinHawkins

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
3
Is this a laptop? If so, you may have inadvertently switched the adapter off. Some laptops have physical switches that will disable the adapter. Others may be disabled in BIOS. Still others may be controlled with a <Fn> key combination (usually an icon of a radio tower). Or, have you put it in airplane mode?
It’s not a laptop, it’s a full on computer
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,758
Do you have a wireless adapter in or connected to that "full on" computer? If so, what is the brand and model of the adapter?
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
21,529
Normally a desktop computer does not have a wireless card.
Please post the brand and exact model so we know what hardware is inside the tower.

Did you install a wireless card?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top