1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reinstall of XP with a twist

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tbone937, Aug 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tbone937

tbone937 Thread Starter

Ok, I've been running XP on my computer for about 4 years and currently it started acting kinda of buggy (with the main problem being the DSL became EXCEPTIONALLY slow unlike the rest of the comptuers in the house).

I got pissy and started removing programs that I don't currently use etc, etc. Same for files and log type stuff that accumulates and is left over from uninstall shield.

So I'm wanting to get all the data/programs that I actually DO want to keep and place them on one of the other two hard drives that are connected to my computer (both internal but both ONLY data, if you want to know if they are slave or whatever I could find out if you can tell me how but currently do not know, I simply plugged them in, ran scandisk, formatted them and began using the for data) and reinstall windows XP on the main HD.

I am 99% sure i have an XP disc.

At this point I want to be sure I'm not making it impossible to ever again access the data on the other 2 hard drives. By locking them to that older windows system somehow? Should I remove them and then preform these actions then simply plug them back in?

Also, since I'm "starting clean" what tips tricks should I use to make my new-er (but still kinda crappy Hardware) run better? Keep data on the other harddrives? Redhat? Gentoo? Linux a GREAT idea for any reason (kinda scared to learn it)? Open office instead of MS? anything you guyz can tell me would be appreciated.

Last, I've been lucky and never had to reinstall XP, how does one go about it?

Thanks
    D

2. steven1350

steven1350