Reinstallation of XP Home

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kevvyb

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
38
It's got to the time where I need to do this and I have done it numerous times in the past but this time I am having problems.

Last week bought two new 500gb harddrives and replaced my existing 300gb slave. Formatted and partitioned this and all was okay.

Today I have removed the 300gb master and installed, formatted and partitioned the new 500gb hd with PM8.

I have set the primary partition as active and all the others are logical which is asthe old hd was partitioned.

I have been geting a disk boot failure error on trying to boot from the CDROM with the XP installation disk. Having originaly had the bios set incorrectly I have now rechecked it and ensured the boot order is set to CDROM, HD-0 and the floppy.

I have ensured that the primary hd has been detected, detection is set to to Auto and Access Mode to LBA following the Seagate instructions. I have now also disconnected the secondary drive to exclude that from the picture until I get into the primary drive.

I have also reset the jumper on the new primary to Master having disconnected the secondary drive.

I am at a loss to know what is wrong. Could anyone give me any ideas?

Thanks
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Check the CDROM drive jumper setting. Is the drive detected by the BIOS?
 

kevvyb

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
38
yes I had them both set to cable select from start and now as above. Noted in my post that HD is detected in BIOS
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
What I mean is the CDROM drive properly detected by the BIOS?
 

kevvyb

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
38
Thanks. Sorru misunderstood. Never had any problems before. They are both detected and identiofied correctly but the on the first page of the bios screen but also the second page insists on being a 'HDD auto detection page' but I suspect this is just how the bios works....?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Is that particular XP cd bootable? Some OEM disks are not.
 

kevvyb

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
38
As I stated in my original post, I have doen this many times before and it was with this exact same disk so yes, it is a bootable disk.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,228
So is the new hard drive an IDE type and not SATA ?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
Are you getting the "Press any key to boot from CD" message, then the disk boot failure after it starts booting from the CD?
If so, try the CD in a different PC, could be the CD is damaged.

Jerry
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
279
Do you have two CD drives?

As someone said, try the CD on another PC to make sure the CD isn't damaged.

Also sounds silly but check that you've set one HDD to master, one to slave and they are plugged in the motherboard in the correct socket.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top