reinstalled windows now missing winows files

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
I reinstalled windows through the i386 folder now the computer has nothing at all no internet, missing windows files even the winnt32.exe I used to reinstall is gone, what did I do
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,312
I would suggest using the Windows installation disc for the installation, after a fresh reformat.
How exactly did you reinstall through the i386 folder? Did you create a bootable install disc with that folder with a third party utility (such as N-lite)?
 

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
I googled how to reinstall windows without the disc because I don't not have one as windows came preinstalled on my comp and I went into i386 folder and there is application called winnt32.exe which when clicked on is the program for installing windows
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,312
Installing Windows from the 386 folder can work but isnt guaranteed.
Can you borrow an installation disk by any chance?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,203
The reason is that the i386 folder is the one from the original installation of Windows OR you have used the wrong i386 folder.
It cannot be used successfully to reinstall Windows in the way you did.
1. What was the reason for the reinstall attempt.
2. What is the situation now when you attempt to load - error message etc
3. What is the make and model of the computer
4. Do you have the user manual
5. Do you have ANY cd`s that came with the computer
 

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
Reinstalled bc its older and slow, no manuals or cds, its a compaq media center
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,203
question 2 please
question 4 please
question 3 - full model details
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,265
Reinstalled bc its older and slow, no manuals or cds, its a compaq media center
What's the model name and model number of that Compaq?

If you don't know for sure, look at the sticker and advise what the product number and/or part number is.

It's possible that a recovery CD kit for it can be purchased here.

------------------------------------------------------------------
 

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
2. Its not that im gettin error messages its that everything is missing like the winnt32 file and all internet explorer all of that is just missing

3. Compaq presario sr2013wm

4. No manuals
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,265
2. Its not that im gettin error messages its that everything is missing like the winnt32 file and all internet explorer all of that is just missing

3. Compaq presario sr2013wm

4. No manuals
You can purchase the recovery CD kit here for $27.00.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
Ok got the recovery disc and it would open while in windows so i went into bios and changed first boot priority to cd and booted from there and it comes up to a black screen and the dvd drive just makes noises as if its working but nothing ever happens
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,265
Here is the support site for the Compaq Presario SR2013WM desktop. You should add and save this site to your browser favorites/bookmarks list so it'll be readily available whenever you need to refer to it.

Here is the section on doing a system recovery, and here is the section on doing a system recovery of Windows XP with the recovery CD kit.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

jiggen01

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
8
Ok this is where in at, none of those recovery options work, its like the cd drive does not read the disc, but i put in a photo disc it read fine, also read a music cd fine, but put in recovery dvd and it makes.noises as if its reading and never comes up, when i boot off the disc a black screen with a blink dash mark in the top left of the screen is all i get
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top