1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reinstalling hardware/drivers glitch

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by kalvin_2020, Dec 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kalvin_2020

    kalvin_2020 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    While trying to reinstall sound card and printer & related drivers I ran into the following prob:
    I had downloaded the most recent sound card driver to the desktop and had a driver for the printer on a CD. While trying to get the drivers installed, Win 98se finds the correct driver and the correct location for the driver and begins to install the driver when a window keeps popping up that says, "Insert Disk" "Please insert the disk labeled WIN 98SE CD" I put the WIN 98 CD in the CD-ROM and clik OK and then get the error message: "file cannot be found" For some reason, WIN 98 SE keeps asking for the Win 98 CD even tho the drivers I want to use are not on that CD. Do I need to clear out some Temp files or is the Windows Installer screwed up or what?
     
  2. JewisHeritage

    JewisHeritage

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    kalvin: Isn't there a window there where you can change the location so that instead of the pc looking for the drivers on your CD Drive, you can redirect them to your desktop location where you have placed the drivers!?

    As to the printer drivers, you are saying that you can't just install them from the Printer Software CD in the CD Drive?

    Please advise!
     
  3. kalvin_2020

    kalvin_2020 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Yo, JewisHeritage! Thanx for the response...yes! I get four choices and can check one or all four...I check the appropriate box and put the path to the file in the box and bingo it starts to install the driver and is interrupted by this "Insert Win98se Disk" prompt everytime. I have successfully reinstalled drivers with no probs in the past, and this is a new one for me, too. This one has me baffled! Please help if you can. :cool:
     
  4. shelly24

    shelly24

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    This is common with alot of driver installs, Not only does windows need the driver it also needs some cab files. if you do not have a windows 98 CD do you have cab files installed? If you do when it gets to the point where it is asking for your Windows 98 Cd click on the browse button and point it to C:\windows\options\cabs
     
  5. kalvin_2020

    kalvin_2020 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Shelley24,
    Thanks for the reply! Yes, I have the WIN98se CD and I put it in the CD-ROM as requested by Windows. When I clik ok I get a prompt "cannot find files" I'll try redirecting to the C drive location you mentioned in your response and see if the cab files can be located that way. Again, thanks.
     
  6. shelly24

    shelly24

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    Kalvin, When you put your Windows CD in what is the path? I think it should be D:/windows98
     
  7. kalvin_2020

    kalvin_2020 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Shelly,
    I'll have to check on that...it's a friend's computer and I don't have that info written down. I'm trying to troubleshoot for him through this forum. The path his system seems to decide to use no matter what I put there is much longer than just D:\windows98...I do remember that much. I haven't been able to try your other suggestion of trying to type in the C drive info, but I'm not optimistic that will work. It acts like it's the window installer or some "default" path windows gets from a registry entry that is causing the trouble. I can't seem to override it coming from the device manager part of windows. Thanks again.
     
  8. deanas

    deanas

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    149
    Don't know if you resolved this problem
    but thought I'd throw out whats helped
    me.
    I often need to resort to using the browse
    button when installing drivers. A lot of time
    they are in the floppy I downloaded the
    driver to. Just hit browse and go through
    all the folders on the floppy. If that doesn't
    work, you can do the same for the win cd.
    Just go through the folders until the file
    shows up.
     
  9. kalvin_2020

    kalvin_2020 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Deanas,
    Thanx for the post!! I'll give it a go. Weird thing, really. I know there must be a really simple workaround here, tho. thanks again! -Kal
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63279

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice