1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reinstalling Vista or Complete PC Restore!! problems ~.~

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ubercool23, Apr 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ubercool23

    ubercool23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    I decided to finally reinstall vista or do a complete pc restore b/c there was so many problems (pc wont boot after loading bar...black screen) and i want to reinstall vista but it keeps giving me this message..

    windows cannot find/open the required file E:\sources\install.wim
    Error 0x80070002


    Does anyone have a clue why? i tried 2 times with the 25 digit code and without..

    also since the above solution didnt work, i tried to do the complete pc restore

    [​IMG]


    and it tells me to verify that i have a backup.
    but my question is how can i make a backup using safemode because i can only currently use my computer in safemode since my pc wont boot up (black screen problem) but it works perfectly fine in safe mode

    what program can i use to create a hard drive back up or DVD back up because i dont care what i need to save i just want to use my pc again
    i just want to get past the stage where it tells me to find a working hard drive or DVD backup

    does anyone have any ideas they can share to me please i have been stuck with this problem for days!! :mad::mad::mad:

    i guess basically what im asking is can i use a blank DVD to copy files i want to save(backup) and will that work as if it was a hard drive if i insert it on the dvd drive during bootup?
     
  2. NeonFx

    NeonFx Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Hi there :cool:

    That error means that you don't have Vista installation files on the CD/DVD you are trying to use, which means regrettably that you won't be able to install Vista from scratch using that. Usually those CDs are provided as a repair solution in case you are having any problems.

    Also, a "restore" would only take your computer back to whenever you made the backup, so if you made the backup now, nothing would change.

    You might however have a backup partition if you were not provided with a Vista CD. Companies do this more and more nowadays. You need to try pressing F11 or F12 as soon as you turn on your computer (or any other F# button, usually you will see something like: "To repair your system press F11" or "To enter the recovery environment press F9".

    Alternately, if you have a friend that has a real Vista DVD, use his, and when asked for an activation code, don't use his code, but rather the one that is on the sticker that is stuck to your computer so that you can verify you are not making an illegal copy.
     
  3. Mollie

    Mollie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    How are you attempting to do a complete restore of windows? By a recovery CD? By a vista installation disk? By accessing the recovery options from the hard drive?

    As for doing a "Windows Complete PC Restore" from a backup, you would have had to already backed up your computer with Windows Backup, and have the backup media available for this purpose.


    When does this error message occur? And what is the *exact* message?

    Mollie
     
  4. ubercool23

    ubercool23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    ya i dont have the original vista dvd that is probably why..
    im using a downloaded one off the internet (120mb)

    so if i only backup like files i know arent a virus or anything that harms the pc
    will that work?

    im trying to completely restore windows by recovery cd (the one i got from internet)

    so i cant make a backup now? what about if i use a DVD cd because i cant do backup on my hard drive since i am very limited to use programs neccessary because i can only go on safemode

    also the message that tells me i need a backup of some sort (hard drive or DVD) is right at this part... but since i dont have a backup it doesnt show the options like that of the picture..

    [​IMG]


    ALSO!! would this be worth a try?? http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Recovering+the+Vista+Bootloader+from+the+DVD
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,397
    First Name:
    Terry
    First, yes, use Safe Mode to save all your data to CD, DVD, USB flash drive, etc.

    That repair disk you downloaded is for doing only those options you showed in your first post. Since you want, and need, to do a complete new install or Recover to factory defaults you need something else.

    As neonfx advised, look for a Recovery Partition (he called it a backup partition). If you for some reason do not have a (still good) one, contact your PC manufacturer or retailer to see if you can get Recovery DVDs for a nominal cost.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/818484

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice