1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Reinstalling Windows XP Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by irainbow, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. irainbow

irainbow Thread Starter

I am having so many problems I'm going to reinstall XP Home.

But, I don't know how!!

I'm not a techie... just someone with good common sense and the original program and SP2 on a disk. When someone else installed this for me, there was an administrator and a [my name] file.

Do I just put the disk in and push the button? Anything to watch out for??

Thanks.

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    can you provide details of the problems.

If its a windows XP disc then it should boot and give you options to repair or instal.

If its a recovery disk - it will take the PC back to how you bought it.

you may need to go into bios and change the boot order to boot from CD 1st

3. Old Rich

Old Rich

Most problems can be fixed, however you may well end up spending more time troubleshooting than performing a clean install . .

If you want to do the clean install, prior to installing, enter BIOS ( Setup ) and make sure the CD/ROM the first boot device. Put your XP Disc in the drive and disconnect all external peripherals except the keyboard and mouse, and be sure those are not USB.

Once you set your BIOS to boot first from cd . . when it restarts you will see a black screen with a prompt "Press any key to boot from cd" . . do that and you will be able to delete partitions and recreate the ones you want and proceed to formating and installing XP.

That message can pass quickly, so have a finger on the keyboard when you boot. This will delete all data on the drive so be sure you have your important data backed up.