1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Releasing and renewing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Coupy, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Coupy

    Coupy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    I posted a few days ago about having some probs installing my pci card so I went a bought a new one have it installed but can't release the ip and renew. I am using the winipcfg and selecting the proper card and it hangs for a long time and then nothing happens. OS is windows 98 any help will be greatly appreciated I won't be able to reply for about 14 hours just heading to work will check soon as i get home

    Thnx in Adance

    Coupy
     
  2. bryan986

    bryan986

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    what are you using for your dhcp server?
     
  3. Coupy

    Coupy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Notsure what you mean there. Everthing is supposed to be set to auto detect and ip's are supposed to be dynamic.

    Thnx for the reply

    Coupy
     
  4. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    some highspeed internet companies use your register your mac address on thier network to allow you to connect to the internet and recieve an ip address. You may have to call your isp to tell them you have a new network card. Mine uses the mac and my computer name.

    They just make a quick entry on thier side and walla you get an ip after you reboot.
     
  5. suesman

    suesman

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Same thing here. I can get it release & renew, but it always loads the Windoze default IP.

    Best thing would be to call support & have them walk you threw it.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you have hangs with WINIPCFG, my guess is you have an issue with the NIC, the drivers, or the cables.

    The fact that it always loads the default 169.254.x.x IP address indicates that you probably have a bad cable connection or a bad NIC.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice