Remote access from home to work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vane0326

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
138
I have a user here at work uses a Windows Xp laptop. Right now he is using OWA to view his emails. But how can he be setup to have access to the network to use his public folders and such?


He takes his laptop everywhere goes he would like to have full access to the company network.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
211
You will need to set up a VPN to allow him to connect to the network from home. With a VPN, it will be as if he is physically in the office, as far as the network is concerned.

Are you familiar with VPNs and how to set one up?
 

vane0326

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
138
You will need to set up a VPN to allow him to connect to the network from home. With a VPN, it will be as if he is physically in the office, as far as the network is concerned.

Are you familiar with VPNs and how to set one up?

Little bit is any instrutions how to set it up?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
A VPN would be the best and most secure. What types of remote access technologies does your company currently use??
 

vane0326

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
138
A VPN would be the best and most secure. What types of remote access technologies does your company currently use??

Well right now the user is doing remote desktop connection from home to his asstiant computer at work ( Only on the weekends ) but he would like just connect to our company network without using anyone's computer at work. Is that possible? I found this link below I read it and it's little confusing maybe because this is my first time doing this. Is this link is the right way of doing this?

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/expert/russel_02july15.mspx
 

vane0326

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
138
Well that link just tell you how to create the connection on the client side. Save that link, but now look at this one:
http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-1035-5805260.html
.........If you have Windows 2000 Server or 2003 Server at your location, this link will tell you how to set it up on the server side.

I have 2 servers one is the file & print server that also house our public folders and the 2nd server is our Domain & exchange. Which one should I do it on or do I do it on both of them?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
You can add the role of VPN server to your file server I guess. In a perfect world, you would probably want a dedicated server to control all remote access.
 

vane0326

Thread Starter
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
138
Thank you for replying skinnywhiteboy. I'm stuck what option I should choose its asking me This:

How do you want IP addresses to be assigned to remote clients?


|| Automatically

If you use a DHCP server to assign address, confirm that it is configured properly.
If you do not use a DHCP server, This server will generate the addresses.


|| From a specified range of addresses




I'm not sure what to pick but we use a static IP Address on all of our computers here.

What is your opion?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top