1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remote administration

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dosbay, Aug 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dosbay

    dosbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    i need a tool that will show all the work in my office staff do, i want to check it with out knowing it other staff , nd i have tryed windows remote administration but it suckss,..... it locks down the host computer that im checking it..........need a quick respond fast............
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Way to generic of a question. You need to be more specific on what you want.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,470
    First Name:
    James
    GenControl allows you to connect to another machine, like remote assistance. You will need to be an Adminstrator to use it though I believe.
     
  4. jhoegl

    jhoegl

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    well, I know there are products out there to do this. I dont knwo what they are called though. Try some google searches.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What reason would you have to spying on other people in the office?
     
  6. jhoegl

    jhoegl

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    The one valid use I saw was at a Library in a College. They monitored people for "missuse". I loved going up to them and telling them no more and giving them the sheet that said what not to browse.

    hehe
     
  7. techman5000

    techman5000

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    There are a ton of programs out there that do this; logmein, vnc, microsoft's remote desktop, gotomypc, and a ton of others (a lot of open source ones out there i've noticed) but they all require consent from the "target" machine, and with good reason. What are you trying to finagle here?
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,470
    First Name:
    James
    GenControl would be the best thing, if you are an administrator (FWIK) because it doesn't require approval, nor does it lock out the machine either. Plus it's free and a small excutable.
     
  9. dosbay

    dosbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    i have tryed GenControl it really cool thnx any way,,,,,,,,
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,470
    First Name:
    James
  11. Memnoch322

    Memnoch322

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    We use NetOP as a remote controll, I like it.
     
  12. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    RADMIN is another one I've used. Much less expensive than NetOP (which works fine). And it is fast. So small it fits on a floppy disk.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/488536

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice