1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remote Desktop and XP Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by DiGiTY, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DiGiTY

    DiGiTY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Is there any way to install Remote Desktop (so I can remotely log onto it) on my Windows XP Home? If so, how?

    TIA
     
  2. bicycle bill

    bicycle bill Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,092
    I think you are asking about a program like this http://www.logmein.com . I just started using it. It is free and easy to use.
     
  3. DiGiTY

    DiGiTY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    i don't want to use logmein. i understand there's a trick or hack to get remote desktop working on XP Home Edition using the XP Pro install disc?

    anyone?
     
  4. bicycle bill

    bicycle bill Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,092
    Well the machine i am accessing is running XP Home Edition and have no problem.
     
  5. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Yes it is called Upgrade to Windows XP Pro.

    Other than that I really do not think that there is anybody that is going to let it out of the bag here on how to do that if there is a way I am sure it is not on the up and up.
     
  6. dez_666

    dez_666

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    There is two solutions: Chuck XP Home, or keep whatever you're going to do to 'crack' Remote Desktop (terminal services) on the DL. And if you aren't planning on paying for something better than XP home, keep that on the DL too. :cool: (y)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I suggest you refrain from offering advice on illegal activities here. :( Any further discussions of cracks or other illegal activities will get a suspension of your account here.
     
  8. dez_666

    dez_666

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    I had said, "Keep it on the DL".

    DL = Down low = Dont post about it here.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't care how you phrased it, you still recommended illegal activities. :mad:

    I'll say it a final time, don't do it again. :rolleyes:
     
  10. DiGiTY

    DiGiTY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    boys, boys, stop fusing over lil' ol Diggy

    okay i didn't know it was illegal. i read somewhere it was as simple as popping in ya Pro disc and installng RD from there which obviously sounds easy and legal, especially since i own Pro copies.

    it's just not worth the hassle of a time consuming upgrade or fresh install

    thanx everyone

    p.s. - actually i enabled access to task manager on Home edition via a simple registry change. i just thought enabling RD may include a change like that. or is that illegal too?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Task manager was always available on XP-Home, so there was no magic there.
     
  12. DiGiTY

    DiGiTY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    really? i keep getting 'task manager has been disabled by your administrator' error message so i KB'd MS and it said this was by design for XP Home Edition.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's news to me, and Microsoft I expect. I just booted a bog stock XP-Home machine and hit Ctrl-Alt-Del, and here's what I get. Doesn't look restricted to me.
     

    Attached Files:

    • tm.jpg
      tm.jpg
      File size:
      64 KB
      Views:
      1,602
  14. DiGiTY

    DiGiTY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    then i'm getting this mixed up with something similar. must of been a virus or spyware that disabled it then

    anyways, so running remote desktop (host) on a XP Home is a definite no go?
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's correct.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Remote Desktop Home
  1. Buffalo19
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    732
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/592763

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice