Remote Desktop and XP Home

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DiGiTY

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
343
Is there any way to install Remote Desktop (so I can remotely log onto it) on my Windows XP Home? If so, how?

TIA
 

DiGiTY

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
343
i don't want to use logmein. i understand there's a trick or hack to get remote desktop working on XP Home Edition using the XP Pro install disc?

anyone?
 

bicycle bill

Banned
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
2,092
DiGiTY said:
i don't want to use logmein. i understand there's a trick or hack to get remote desktop working on XP Home Edition using the XP Pro install disc?

anyone?
Well the machine i am accessing is running XP Home Edition and have no problem.
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Yes it is called Upgrade to Windows XP Pro.

Other than that I really do not think that there is anybody that is going to let it out of the bag here on how to do that if there is a way I am sure it is not on the up and up.
 
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
There is two solutions: Chuck XP Home, or keep whatever you're going to do to 'crack' Remote Desktop (terminal services) on the DL. And if you aren't planning on paying for something better than XP home, keep that on the DL too. :cool: (y)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
dez_666 said:
There is two solutions: Chuck XP Home, or keep whatever you're going to do to 'crack' Remote Desktop (terminal services) on the DL. And if you aren't planning on paying for something better than XP home, keep that on the DL too. :cool: (y)
I suggest you refrain from offering advice on illegal activities here. :( Any further discussions of cracks or other illegal activities will get a suspension of your account here.
 
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
JohnWill said:
I suggest you refrain from offering advice on illegal activities here. :( Any further discussions of cracks or other illegal activities will get a suspension of your account here.
I had said, "Keep it on the DL".

DL = Down low = Dont post about it here.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
dez_666 said:
I had said, "Keep it on the DL".

DL = Down low = Dont post about it here.
I don't care how you phrased it, you still recommended illegal activities. :mad:

I'll say it a final time, don't do it again. :rolleyes:
 

DiGiTY

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
343
boys, boys, stop fusing over lil' ol Diggy

okay i didn't know it was illegal. i read somewhere it was as simple as popping in ya Pro disc and installng RD from there which obviously sounds easy and legal, especially since i own Pro copies.

it's just not worth the hassle of a time consuming upgrade or fresh install

thanx everyone

p.s. - actually i enabled access to task manager on Home edition via a simple registry change. i just thought enabling RD may include a change like that. or is that illegal too?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Task manager was always available on XP-Home, so there was no magic there.
 

DiGiTY

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
343
really? i keep getting 'task manager has been disabled by your administrator' error message so i KB'd MS and it said this was by design for XP Home Edition.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
DiGiTY said:
really? i keep getting 'task manager has been disabled by your administrator' error message so i KB'd MS and it said this was by design for XP Home Edition.
That's news to me, and Microsoft I expect. I just booted a bog stock XP-Home machine and hit Ctrl-Alt-Del, and here's what I get. Doesn't look restricted to me.
 

Attachments

DiGiTY

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
343
then i'm getting this mixed up with something similar. must of been a virus or spyware that disabled it then

anyways, so running remote desktop (host) on a XP Home is a definite no go?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top