1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remote Desktop Connections - Vista Home Premium

Discussion in 'Networking' started by martin-man, Dec 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. martin-man

    martin-man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    We have a employee trying to connect to her workstation at the office from her home computer, but the desktop connection will not connect.

    We have established a successful VPN connection to the SBS 2003 R2 Server, and can even remote desktop into the server, but we cannot connect to the workstation even using the network IP address for that machine.

    Home PC = Vista Home Premium
    Network Server = SBS 2003 R2
    Workstation = Vista Ultimate
    VPN = Microsoft Application via the OS
    Remote Connection = Microsoft on the OS

    Can anyone help us identify why we can connect to the server but not the workstation?

    Thank you,

    martin-man
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,561
    Maybe you haven't permitted Rermote connections on the workstation.

    Maybe there is a firewall or security suite on the workstation that hasn't been configured for the desired access.

    Maybe the workstation is behind a router and the proper port forwarding has not been done.
     
  3. martin-man

    martin-man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply...

    - We have checked and verified that the correct permissions were set for remote desktop on both her home computer and on the workstation at the office. She is the only person with a profile on both systems and her profile at work is associated with the login she has for the domain. When we access the remote tab and checked the allowed users, it states that she already has permissions.

    - She runs Kaspersky software on both her systems. We have tuned the entire program off on both her home computer (KAS suite 2010) and on her workstation (KAS 6.0 for workstations) and tried to connect. Also note that we were able to connect via remote desktop to the SBS 2003 server, so if her local Kaspersky were blocking the connection, I would think it would have blocked this remote session too.

    - The workstation is behind a router, and we contacted the manufacturer and had them assist us in opening the necessary ports for the remote desktop packets to pass-through the router.

    Again, thank you for your suggestions. Keep them coming. We are at a loss as to why just the workstation won't accept the remote desktop connection.

    martin-man
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,561
    Try the Remote Desktop connection from another computer on the (workplace) LAN. That test should indicate whether the problem is within the workstation or somewhere between there and home.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Vista Home versions don't have Remote Desktop server capability.

    Try using something like UltraVNC for this function.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,561
    The Home Premium is at home (client), so she should be OK if the above quote from the initial post is correct. :)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You're right, I was thinking they were going the other way. :)
     
  8. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,271
    Make sure that her workstation is not going to sleep.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/884479