1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remote desktop stoped working on XP Home (I did have it working)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by DonutFUN, Feb 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DonutFUN

    DonutFUN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    I followed these instructions to get it working :
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2008/...le-remote-desktop-in-windows-xp-home-edition/
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2008/...esktop-connections-or-sessions-in-windows-xp/

    And a couple of months after I got it working it just stopped working all of a sudden, and the "terminal services" disappeared out of the services manager, and I tried to reinstall in twice and it still will not show up, I don't know what to do besides reformat.

    I have windows Xp Home SP2 (I didn't upgrade past that because it works and works better than last time I had sp3, So I'm just going to leave it for now.
     
  2. Paynesmanor

    Paynesmanor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    219
    Use ultraVNC server and viewer. Works much better and less of a lag on system. I also think you need netframework.
     
  3. DonutFUN

    DonutFUN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    I can't, I want to be able to run remote desktop on this little windows CE Laptop I have to control this computer, and seeing as it runs CE it wont run that.
     
  4. merit65

    merit65

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Once I caught(and removed) some malware that gave me remote desktop issues and I had to install an earlier version of remote desktop to get it to work.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Remote desktop stoped
  1. emptyxremedy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    318
  2. SilverSurf
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    284
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/979751

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice