1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

remotely access camera

Discussion in 'Networking' started by newcamera, Jul 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newcamera

    newcamera Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I have a Dlink dcs6620g connected to a dlink DI624 router. How do i configure the router and camera so i can view ithe camera remotely? It works fine on the local network. I have have internet access via a dsl line.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Well you could remote into one of your computers on your network and view the camera from there.

    You will ultimately have to forward a port on your router to the IP address of the device you want to access. How do you access the camera on your LAN?
     
  3. newcamera

    newcamera Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I access it with ie by typing in the ip address 192. etc.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I am going to assume that you don't put a port number at the end of the Ip address. If so then forward port 80 on your router to the 192.x.x.x address of the camera on your lan. But then everyone else will be able to see the camera as well.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Most internet enabled cameras have security capability, as well as the capabliity to configure the port you access them on. I have a couple of the TrendNet internet cameras here, and I have them configured on port 81 and 82. I forward those ports through the router to the IP address of the camera, and I can view them anywhere I have an Internet connection. You should also be able to assign a password for access to the camera.
     
  6. newcamera

    newcamera Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    How do I "forward the ports through the router"?
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Read the router manual. It is pretty darn easy. You can probably figure it out by browsing your router Config. Look for Port Forwarding or Virtual Server. I have D-Link 704p and a Dlink 524. Both use the term Virtual Server.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483546

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice