1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remoting to Sites

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CTVaaltech, Apr 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CTVaaltech

    CTVaaltech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi guys,,,,

    can i boggle your brains for a bit. im looking for a way to remote to a site with no WAN or remote server.
    The site consists of 4 desktops, Router and a switch.

    Since the router has no static IP available i was thinking of using a remote connecting program. This is where im stuck. im busy searching for solutions and would like any input on the matter and appreciate any advice.

    The desktops are running Windows 7 Pro and its a Billion router "400G".
    Is there a way around this.

    Thanks for any help or advice in advance.....
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Do you need Remote Desktop access to the comptuers?
    Or do you just need general access to the network to access files and printers?
     
  3. CTVaaltech

    CTVaaltech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    i need remote desktop access to the computers from outside the local network. they have a router and i found VNC Viewer usefull in the past, but don't know if it will work on windows 7 pro. or if its even possible to use VNC Viewer to access the site and its desktops from outside their on network.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    UltraVNC will work just fine.
    Remote Desktop would work just fine as well.
    You just need to make each computer use a different port number for the connection and then forward the appropriate port on your router to the LAN ip address of the computer.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I use UltraVNC on everything from Windows 2000 to Windows 7 64-bit.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918709

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice