1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Removal of porn link on right click menu

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by NorvalRogers, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    My problem is when I right click my mouse the menu now has a link to "hardcore movies". I can't right click on it and delete this, it will only send me to the link where it then wants to connect me to a dialer. It only appears when I'm online. I have checked in progams to unistall, not there, deleted temp. files and cookies, history, and even tried Tracks Eracer pro 3.2 to find and erase. What must I do?
     
  2. Top Banana

    Top Banana

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Download HijackThis from Here. "Scan". HijackThis will show the offending item as "08 extra context menu item". "Fix" it with HijackThis.
     
  3. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Okay, I downloaded it and scanned with it. It sure enough was there. I fixed it, but it is still on the menu. It does not show up on the list anymore though when I scan. anymore suggestions?
     
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
  5. Top Banana

    Top Banana

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Open Registry Editor via Start>Run>(type)regedit>(click)OK. Navigate to..
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

    Right click offending key and delete. Just delete the offending key.

    Warning
    Be careful. Editing your registry incorrectly can harm your system.
     
  6. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Okay, Randy G, I'm not smart enough to figure out how to use context edit. Feel free to advise me. I can't figure out how to run it, I think I installed it. When I click on to where it said to "install
    here" it kept taking me to a page describing what it does. Sounds great, but I'm feeling pretty stupid right about now.

    Top Banana, I only came up with one thing in the menu. It had an "ab" next to it and was labeled as default. I left it alone.
     
  7. Top Banana

    Top Banana

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,344
    Navigate to..
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

    Open MenuExt. Your offending key should be there.
     
  8. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    If you installed it to the default location, it would be at "C:\Program Files\PC Magazine Utilities\ContextEdit\ContextEdit.exe"

    make sure you are running the correct executable.


    As to how the durn thing works, it basically gives you all the extensions and masterkeys that can be found in the regsitry, and tells you what actions can be done with that thing. There is no search, even though one is mentioned in the help, but if you remembered where the key was that you deleted from the registry, you may be able to find it in here.
     
  9. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    okay, it said it was unable to delete all specified values
     
  10. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Randy, the executable should be winzip right? I don't know if I know how to get to where you're telling me to go. I went to the start menu an ran the c:, selected program files and it didn't show me anything, it said 68 files, 6 hidden, to manage files go to Add/Remove. I went there and there is nothing there that looks odd. What are the 6 hidden files?
     
  11. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    whaich program are you using right now?? The Context Edit program doesn't have those options, or at least not for me.

    Are you using The Hijack This program???


    The fiel you would have downloaded would be a zip file named cnxtedit.zip and when you open it, you would run the setup.exe that is in there,which would install the program on your system.


    From your last 2 posts, I'm thinking you are running something else, and I haven't a clue what.
     
  12. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Sorry Randy, I was talking to Top Banana too. I did do the Hijack thing and it came up just like he said it would, but didn't remove it from the right click menu.

    I went to context edit to download, nothing seemed to be happening. There was a place where it said "need help downloading" It said all the programs were ran through WinZip so I downloaded it and sure enough context edit said download was complete, but I can't seem to get to it in order to open it. I know I'm probably confusing you, I'm sorry, my husband posted the message last night and told me to get it done today, so I'm trying, but quickly finding out I'm not very computer literate.
     
  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Do this to get rid of the context menu entry:

    Go to Start > Run > Regedit, and navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

    Under MenuExt you will see subfolders named for the menu entries in question.

    Click one of them and look in the right pane.

    The default value points to a htm file.

    Rightclick the menu entry you wish to remove, and choose Delete from the menu.

    Cheers,
     
  14. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Tony, when I follow the steps you give me it brings up one item. The item says under the name column "ab"(default) and under the data column it says "value not set" When I try to delete it, it says "unable to delete all specified values" Do I need to assign a value to it in order to delete? I just have no idea of what I'm doing.
     
  15. NorvalRogers

    NorvalRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    HOLD FIRE! It's gone, does it take awhile to update? I've been right clicking everything in sigt to see if it's still there and all of the sudden it's not. I don't know which one of you guys did it, but thank you all for putting up with my babblings. Suzanne
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115497

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice