1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remove Calculate in Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by holymoly, Dec 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    I have the Calculate caption at the bottom of the Excel 2003 spreadsheet.

    My general options have been set to Automatic, and I have tried the manual calculate PF9 button, but that caption 'Calculate' still remains annoying me. It is there for all open files.

    More than annoying, I am more concerned there is a possible problem with the excel file.

    Any ideas.
     
  2. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
  3. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Iteration in Tools->Options was turned off, so I had not circular reference.

    I tried closing excel and I got a "file needs repair" message. then I saved all repaired files under filename(version1).xls.

    Then I reopened origianl excel files and no "Calculate" message and formula calculations are handled and all seems fine.

    Bizarre.
     
  4. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Corrupted files do funky things sometimes. :)

    Glad you got it fixed. Don't forget you can mark your thread as Solved by going to Thread Tools | Mark Solved | Perform Action.
     
  5. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Don't like the word "corrupted" for one of my key work files.

    If it happened once, it can happen again, unfortunately.

    Wish there is a diagnostic tool to uncorrupt those files.

    Thnks.
     
  6. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    There is commercial software available for extracting data from corrupted files, if you cannot open it yourself.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/659621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice