remove 'win2000 setup' from OS list on boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wunderfly

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
60
I tried to install/repair windows 2000 and it crashed during setup... so when my computer restarts in the OS list there is the original 2000 install, an older one on a different drive, and the windows 2000 setup at the bottom.

how do I get rid of it?

I've gone back into the set up and ended the setup without it crashing... restarts but it's still there in the OS list

I'm probably not using the right terminology but I hope I'm making sense :)

any suggestions?

I've updated windows recently and that didnt remove it

thank-you!!
 

Rache

Banned
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
1,398
That's strange... I've got w2k as os on 'c' and 'e', with 'e' having 2 w2k's (1 is fine and 1 is hosed). I searched for boot.ini and nothing is found on all drives. I looked in explorer and nothing. I want to delete the hosed os. is there a way. BTW Sorry to interrupt.
 

Rache

Banned
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
1,398
Thanks for reply. My 'see hidden files and folders' is checked.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
After you find the file you will need to remove the read only attribute. Now you can edit the file with notepad. Remove any reference to the win2k install you do not want, save and exit.

Note, before doing this do a backup copy of the file. That way if you mess something up, all you need to do is copy the file back in the RC.
 

wunderfly

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 10, 2003
Messages
60
boot.ini:

[Boot Loader]
Timeout=5
Default=C:\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

at the bottom of the list was the "Windows 2000 Setup" which took off and when I restarted was gone from the OS list but replaced with "Windows 2000 (default)" and it still went into setup after 5 seconds.

the OS that works is on E
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
As long as the install you want is on E
Ok the default line needs to read as follows.
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT

Remove the line that reads.
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

Make sure you make a backup before you edit the file. In addition make sure you remove the read only attribute from the file; you can change it back to read only after you finish editing.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top