1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Remove Windows 98 screen during start / shut down

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Toledo Nick, Sep 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Toledo Nick

    Toledo Nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Hi

    Anyone know how to remove / bypass the Windows 98 screen that is displayed in low resolution graphics, during start-up and shut down of 98SE. My system intermittently freezes during start-up and shut down and I want to rule out problems associated with the display adapter having to put these graphics up unecessarily.

    Cheers

    :cool:
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, if your display adapter can't put up low-res graphics, I think you should address that issue!
     
  3. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
  4. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    I think TweakUI will allow you to not display the Splash screen.
     
  5. Toledo Nick

    Toledo Nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Walkeriam

    The Microsoft resources for shutdown issues was useful. I downloaded a shutdown patch and it seems much more stable now during shutdown.

    Start ups are still erratic. About 4 times out of ten startups, the system will freeze after the blank wallpaper is displayed, but before the quicklaunch toolbar and desktop icons are built.

    Could you have a look at my boot log analyzer delays and failures, and comment if there are any troublesome processes that can removed.

    Whilst I was creating a new bootlog file the system powercycled midway though startup. Normally it just freezes if there is going to be a problem but it does powercycle occassionaly.

    Thanks


    18:39:32 0.33 Loading Device = C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE
    18:39:32 1.00 Loading Device = C:\WINDOWS\DBLBUFF.SYS
    18:39:33 1.33 Loading Device = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\VIDE-CDD.SYS
    18:39:34 2.11 LoadSuccess = C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS
    18:39:36 1.00 LoadSuccess = VMM
    18:39:37 0.00 LoadFailed = ndis2sup.vxd
    18:39:38 0.06 DEVICEINITFAILED = MTRR
    18:39:39 0.28 Started SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus (ACPI\ACPI_INTERRUPT\0)
    18:39:42 0.39 Enumerating USB Root Hub (USB\ROOT_HUB\PCI&VEN_1106&DEV_3038&SUBSYS_12340925&REV_0E&BUS_00&DEV_14&FUNC_02)
    18:39:46 1.06 Starting TCP/IP (NETWORK\MSTCP\0001)
    18:39:48 0.00 Init Failure ppa3.mpd
    18:39:48 4.72 Initing viadsk.mpd
    18:39:53 1.83 Initing drvwq117.vxd
    18:39:55 0.28 Init Success drvwq117.vxd
    18:39:55 0.28 INITCOMPLETE = IOS
    18:39:56 0.00 INITCOMPLETEFAILED = SDVXD
    18:39:56 0.28 Dynamic load success C:\WINDOWS\system\serial.vxd
    18:39:57 6.56 InitDone = TSRQuery (time estimated)
    18:40:04 0.39 Enumerating Standard Floppy Disk Controller (ACPI\*PNP0700\0)
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If you want to get rid of the windows splash screen, edit the msdos.sys file, add line that says logo=0 unless there is a line there already saying logo=1, then just change it to zero....save changes. Do this under the [options] area.

    Also get rid of the Windows startup sound, that sometimes creates loading problems.
     
  7. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Disconnect your zip drive, it seems to be your problem.

    Or see here for fixing parallel port issues for iomega drives,

    http://pw1.netcom.com/~deepone/zipjaz/pp.html


    Also noticed:

    DeviceInitFailed = MTRR
    Memory Type Range Registers (MTRR) is a .vxd file that is responsible for manipulating memory ranges. This file is loaded with DirectX 5.0; however, none of the DirectX core components use the service that is provided by MTRR. The Ntkern file and some video adapter drivers do use the service that is provided by MTRR to change memory ranges.

    Updating directx may fix this.... Do a search on the machines drive and make sure the file "mtrr.vxd" is present on the machine, otherwise you'll have find the file on the net and reinstall it as simply installing directx will not replace that file.
     
  8. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
    Do you have a tape drive? If not you can rename three files:

    They reside in
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IOSUBSYS
    drvwq117.vxd
    Drvwppqt.vxd
    Drvwcdb.vxd

    Change the .vxd extension to .old
    drvwq117.old
    Drvwppqt.old
    Drvwcdb.old

    It will speed up your boot. Not necessarily remove the delay in the spot where you are experiencing it though.
     
  9. Toledo Nick

    Toledo Nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    With those three tape drive .vxd files bypassed, start-up does not have a pronounced pause as previously. Cool.

    Have done three shutdowns and start-ups without hitch. Seems much better now.

    I dont have the mtrr.vxd on my hard disc. Where would I find it on the net ? and which folder should it be placed ?

    Thanks(y)
     
  10. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
    I wouldn't worry about the MTRR, it is only a .06 second delay.

    Your biggest delay is "viadsk.mpd" which is your PRIMARY BUS MASTER IDE CONTROLLER and is necessary to run your Hard-Drive.

    I would leave it alone if it is starting ok now.
     
  11. Toledo Nick

    Toledo Nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Good advice.

    If it aint bust, dont fix it !

    Cheers(y)
     
  12. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    Good point Candy; thanks for the reminder. With W98se the shutdown sound can also cause a hangup. I suggest removing startup and shutdown sounds entirely, as they add nothing to system performance. As a matter of fact, all sounds, splash screens and screensavers are merely "Window" dressing.
     
  13. Toledo Nick

    Toledo Nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Start-up and shut down sounds were disabled many moons ago.

    I have looked into editing msdos.sys using notepad, but cant then save the file as it is marked as read only. How should it be edited ?

    ;)
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You have to change the properties from read only.....uncheck the box.
     
  15. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
    Happy belated Birthday AcaCandy! :D :eek:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164320

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice