1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

removed cpu now pc wont start

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wayneali, Dec 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wayneali

wayneali Thread Starter

Hi all,

I have had a custom built AMD pc for around 5 yrs, and recently started having a few problems that seem to be over heating related.

Before I go any further - I am a relative novice when it comes to the inner workings of a pc.

A short while ago the fan in the power supply packed up which I replaced successfully, but more recently the pc has been randomly shutting down, guessing that it was an over heating issue, the side came off the pc for inspection. All fans seemed to be running fine, however I did notice that the cpu heatsink (or at least i think it is the cpu heatsink) was clogged with dust. I unclipped the cpu (exposing the pins underneath) and using a handheld hoover, vacumed out the dust. I only removed the complete unit, I didn't separate the fan from the heatsink or the heatsink from the cpu. After replacing the cpu and reconnecting everything to the pc I tried turning on - Nothing.

The fans seem to work, the HD light is on permanently (as opposed to flashing & flickering as it usually does) and no usb hardware is working, and the monitor is not powering up. I have checked the pins on the back of the cpu and none seem to be bent or out of place.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance - Wayne

2. daz1

daz1 Banned

try resetting bios remove battery for a minute
    double and trebble check all power connectors are reseated esp the cpu
    guessing you replaced the thermal paste, tiny possibility too much and covering pins