1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Removed some bad malware, still traces left, can't access windows update

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by karl78, Jul 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Got hit with some bad malware. Got most of it taken care of between Spybot search and destroy, AVG, malwarebytes and hijack this.. I'm still having problems though. Randomly firefox will open a new tab and try to direct me to some website or another. Also when I try to go to windows update it says "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 10:58:15 PM, on 7/14/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgwdsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgemc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgrsx.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgnsx.exe
    C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgcsrvx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox 3 Beta 1\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG8_TRAY] C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgtray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O18 - Protocol: linkscanner - {F274614C-63F8-47D5-A4D1-FBDDE494F8D1} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgpp.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: avgrsstarter - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\avgrsstx.dll
    O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG Free8 E-mail Scanner (avg8emc) - AVG Technologies CZ, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgemc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG Free8 WatchDog (avg8wd) - AVG Technologies CZ, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG8\avgwdsvc.exe

    --
    End of file - 2058 bytes
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Heres some things I see in my AVG virus vault..

    Trojan horse Crypt.XNX - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\ybykvausr\tdafcuatssd.exe (I deleted this folder but I did notice when firefox tried to open a new tab I saw that 'ybykvausr' in the address)

    Trojan horse Dropper.Generic2.YMT - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Application Data\1AD3D2C14B7CD319F598A7AAF5CCCDE5\070700Setup.exe (deleted this folder as well)

    Trojan horse Agent_r.SO - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temp\8F.tmp

    Trojan horse Downloader.Agent2.YNI - C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\srenum.sys

    Trojan horse Cryptic.ND - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temp\jUVd.exe

    Trojan horse Cryptic.ND - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temp\aDvu.exe

    Trojan horse Cryptic.ND - C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Local Settings\Temp\YxGK.exe
     
  2. Rorschach112

    Rorschach112 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Download ComboFix here :

    Link 1
    Link 2


    * IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop


    • Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. Here is a guide on how to disable them

      Click me

    • Double click on ComboFix.exe & follow the prompts.

    • As part of it's process, ComboFix will check to see if the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is installed. With malware infections being as they are today, it's strongly recommended to have this pre-installed on your machine before doing any malware removal. It will allow you to boot up into a special recovery/repair mode that will allow us to more easily help you should your computer have a problem after an attempted removal of malware.

    • Follow the prompts to allow ComboFix to download and install the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console, and when prompted, agree to the End-User License Agreement to install the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console.

    **Please note: If the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is already installed, ComboFix will continue it's malware removal procedures.


    [​IMG]


    Once the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is installed using ComboFix, you should see the following message:

    [​IMG]


    Click on Yes, to continue scanning for malware.

    When finished, it shall produce a log for you. Please include the C:\ComboFix.txt log in your next reply.
     
  3. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Ok i've attached the log file.. Im doing this from my laptop because now the computer wont load any web pages at all.
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      19 KB
      Views:
      1
  4. Rorschach112

    Rorschach112 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    don't attach the logs


    1. Close any open browsers.

    2. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    3. Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:

    Save this as CFScript.txt, in the same location as ComboFix.exe


    [​IMG]

    Refering to the picture above, drag CFScript into ComboFix.exe

    When finished, it shall produce a log for you at C:\ComboFix.txt which I will require in your next reply.
     
  5. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Ok here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Rorschach112

    Rorschach112 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    don't attach the logs it makes it tougher for me

    Download TFC to your desktop
    • Open the file and close any other windows.
    • It will close all programs itself when run, make sure to let it run uninterrupted.
    • Click the Start button to begin the process. The program should not take long to finish its job
    • Once its finished it should reboot your machine, if not, do this yourself to ensure a complete clean




    Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here

    Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
    • Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
    • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
    • Once the program has loaded, select "Perform Quick Scan", then click Scan.
    • The scan may take some time to finish,so please be patient.
    • When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
    • Make sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
    • When disinfection is completed, a log will open in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart.(See Extra Note)
    • The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
    • Copy&Paste the entire report in your next reply.
    Extra Note:
    If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove,you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts,click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process,if asked to restart the computer,please do so immediatly.






    Go to Kaspersky website and perform an online antivirus scan.

    1. Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
    2. It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
    3. When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
    4. Make sure these boxes are checked (ticked). If they are not, please tick them and click on the Save button:
      • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
        Archives
        Mail databases
    5. Click on My Computer under Scan.
    6. Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
    7. You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
    8. Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button. Then post it here.
     
  7. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    ok sorry about the logs I thought i sent what you asked for.. i am away from the computer and wont be back until saturday the 24th so please dont close the thread i will continue with your instructions as soon as i get home. thanks.
     
  8. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Ok ran TFC. Cant run update on Malwarebytes or Kaspersky online scan because as I stated earlier I have absolutely no internet access now. My local area connection status shows 0 packets sent or recieved, if I click on Support and then Repair it says "Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed: Failed to query TCP/IP settings of the connection."
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    EDIT: Downloaded current driver for NIC card and internet is working now - Scans in progress..
     
  9. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.46
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: 4346

    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
    Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702

    7/25/2010 9:56:33 AM
    mbam-log-2010-07-25 (09-56-33).txt

    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 129943
    Time elapsed: 6 minute(s), 11 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 1
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center\UpdatesDisableNotify (Disabled.SecurityCenter) -> Bad: (1) Good: (0) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    KASPERSKY ONLINE SCANNER 7.0: scan report
    Sunday, July 25, 2010
    Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 3 (build 2600)
    Kaspersky Online Scanner version: 7.0.26.13
    Last database update: Sunday, July 25, 2010 02:16:33
    Records in database: 4219737
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Kaspersky:

    Scan settings:
    scan using the following database: extended
    Scan archives: yes
    Scan e-mail databases: yes

    Scan area - My Computer:
    C:\
    D:\
    E:\
    F:\

    Scan statistics:
    Objects scanned: 91332
    Threats found: 1
    Infected objects found: 1
    Suspicious objects found: 0
    Scan duration: 04:28:32


    File name / Threat / Threats count
    C:\Qoobox\Quarantine\C\WINDOWS\system32\Drivers\disk.sys.vir Infected: Rootkit.Win32.TDSS.ap 1

    Selected area has been scanned.

    ALSO: I now have access to Windows Update..
     
  10. Rorschach112

    Rorschach112 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Your logs are clean


    Follow these steps to uninstall Combofix and tools used in the removal of malware

    Uninstall ComboFix

    Remove Combofix now that we're done with it.
    • Please press the Windows Key and R on your keyboard. This will bring up the Run... command.
    • Now type in Combofix /Uninstall in the runbox and click OK. (Notice the space between the "x" and "/")
      [​IMG]
    • Please follow the prompts to uninstall Combofix.
    • You will then recieve a message saying Combofix was uninstalled successfully once it's done uninstalling itself.


    • Download OTC to your desktop and run it
    • Click Yes to beginning the Cleanup process and remove these components, including this application.
    • You will be asked to reboot the machine to finish the Cleanup process. Choose Yes.



    • Please read my guide on how to prevent malware and about safe computing here
    Thank you for your patience, and performing all of the procedures requested.
     
  11. karl78

    karl78 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    A MILLION THANKS!!
    I greatly appreciate you helping me out with this and I will be following your suggestions in the link you posted.. THANKS AGAIN! :):):)
     
  12. Rorschach112

    Rorschach112 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    no problem
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/935797

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice