1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Removing Dual Monitors

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by PlasmaWaffle, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PlasmaWaffle

    PlasmaWaffle Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Hello, for the longest time I ran one monitor, then recently added a second monitor which a friend gave me which died out in a couple of months. I removed the monitor from the nvidia control panel but the computer still thinks its there and some windows pop up in it, how can I remove it?

    My adjust screen resolution window also opens in the second monitor so I can't see if it still thinks I have a second monitor there, I spent about 10 minutes trying to guess-drag the window but never hit it.
     
  2. Chill3rek

    Chill3rek

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Try restarting your computer. Or, You can go to settings and change it.
     
  3. calvin-c

    calvin-c Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    If you're sure the window is appearing too far to the right (or left, depending on which monitor went out) you can move it 'blind' using Alt+Space, M, and left arrow. I don't think this works with full-screen windows though. Try it on a window you can see so you know how it works. Alt+Space opens the window menu, then M is the shortcut for Move-and the arrow keys move the window a little bit at a time.
     
  4. Mhouser

    Mhouser

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    (Windows Key + P) Select "Computer only" to return to single monitor view.

    If this appears on the un-viewable screen click left twice press enter. (Assuming Extend option is currently setup)

    My Computer pops up option like this with (Windows Key + P):
    [Computer only] [Duplicate] [Extend] [Projector only]
     
  5. PlasmaWaffle

    PlasmaWaffle Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Thankyou Mhouser, I did what you suggested and it worked great.
    However, even though the screen is locked down to 1 monitor, the screen resolution box still thinks I have 2 monitors... is there any way to make it realize there's only one?
     
  6. Mhouser

    Mhouser

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Sounds like a bug in the software, not sure how to fix that.
    On my system after changing the setting everything configures correctly.

    I'd uninstall the Video Driver and reinstall them. See if that resolves your issue.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Removing Dual Monitors
  1. shashwat13
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    336
  2. Persivoje
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    285
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977047

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice