1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Removing win 98 and installing win 98 se

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by leroylar, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leroylar

    leroylar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I currently have windows 98 on my compaq presario 5285 and everything is going in slow motion and also can't add new programs. I'm reluctant to just upgrade to se because I have so much junk on my computer that it might just be better to remove win 98 and do a complete install of win 98se. I have the win98se install disc.

    I have already backed up all my photos so I think I'm ready to proceed.

    Just for info my presario has 20gb hard drive with only 1.66gb free on c: drive.
    I've upgraded ram to 256mb.

    I guess my question is, is there anything else I need to be concerned with? and also how did I remove the win98 and do the win98se install. Do I simply do a format of the c drive from dos prompt? or is there an easier and better way?


    Thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,136
    First Name:
    Wayne
    as far as backing up - are you sure you have all the info you need and files

    18Gb is a lot of data on a win98 system.

    when you reinstall windows98se
    you will need to re-install some drivers
    printers, etc
    you may need to install the video and sound drivers

    it may be worth installing a program to detect the hardware you have - such that when you re-install you have a printout of the hardware you have
    http://www.belarc.com

    Is your version of win98SE a full retail version or upgrade
     
  3. leroylar

    leroylar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I do have the full retail verison.

    I have the drivers for the printers and cd burner. Not sure about video and sound drivers.

    Will do as you recommend on the program to detect hardware.

    Was I right to format c: in dos?
     
  4. Suburban

    Suburban

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Freeware driver backup program here: Driver Backup 1.0

    Yup, format c: ,and it's all gone. ;)
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    If you reformated the hard drive, there is nothing else to do but to reinstall Windows 98SE, then obtain the drivers for audio, video and monitor in the Web. In a case like this, you lost the ability to restore the programs and drivers bundled with the computer.

    If you have not reformatted the hard drive yet, it will be a good idea just to delete The Program Files and Windows Folder and reinstall Windows. In this manner, you will keep the ability to restore your drivers and programs throughout selective restore.

    To delete the Program Files and Windows Folder, follow these steps: (You will need the Certificate of Authenticity [Product Key](Microsoft's license) to complete the installation) (If you do not have the Cetificate of Authenticity, stop and let us kow)

    Boot the computer with a Windows 98 Startup diskette. At the menu select Command Prompt with CD support. A letter will be assigned to the CD_ROM drive. At the prompt type the following pressing Enter after each line:

    C:
    cd\
    copy C:\Windows\Command\Deltree*.*
    Deltree C:\Windows
    Deltree C:\Progra~1
    X:Setup

    Where X is the drive letter assigned to the CD_ROM. The Installation will begin. Have the Product Key ready for installation.

    Once you have installed the OS, search in the computer for the file Home.exe, and once found double click on it. Select Quick Restore, then Selective Restopre. Pointing to the first item in the menu you will see a serie of icons representing the drives and programs bundled with your computer such as Microsoft Works, video and sound drivers. Click on the programs and drivers to be restored one by one and restart the computer after each restoration.

    That will allow you not only to install Windows 98 SE, but it will also give you the ability to restore the programs and drivers bundled with the computer.
     
  6. leroylar

    leroylar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    JSntgRvr:

    Have not reformated the hard drive yet and I do have a copy of windows98se with product key code.

    Should the file home.exe already be on the computer? I've done a search on my computer but no home.exe file.

    Thanks.
     
  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    I don't know if your computer was manufactured with this featrure. You should refer to the computer's documentation as far as Selective Restore. Most Presarios come with a Compaq Support icon in the Destop for these purposes. If you have a Compaq Support icon in the desktop, right click on it and select Properties. Check the Command line for this shortcut. That will be the file to look for in the Computer. In my Presario Home.exe is located in the C:\cpqs\Support folder. As far as I know, all Compaq computer come with a feature to restore original drivers and software bundled with the computer. See if this folder exists in the computer and look for an executable file.
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    For a variety of ways to install Win9x see:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/install/win9x_install.htm

    Topics covered are:

    Overview
    FDISK and/or FORMAT
    First Time Install
    Simple Re-Install - (Over Existing Installation)
    Clean Installation or Upgrade - (Keeping Windows & Program Files Directories)
    New Installation - (Removing Original Files without a Format)
     
  10. leroylar

    leroylar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Everything was going good until I did deltree c:\windows
    Got the message are u sure you want to remove windows and subdirectories and I said y

    It appeared and sounded like it was working but 8 hours later the computer was still making noise like it was still working. Is this normal? I finally powered down the computer.

    Any ideas on what I should do now??? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  11. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What were the steps taken before running deltree?
     
  12. leroylar

    leroylar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Did the following:

    booted on windows 98 startup disc
    c:
    cd\
    copy c:\windows\command\deltree*.*
    deltree c:\windows


    thanks
     
  13. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What startup disk?
    Same version of deltree?
    Did you ever get a DOS prompt back again?
     
  14. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    It takes a great deal of time to delete C:\Windows due to to the size of the directory. The time depends upon the amount of files and folders in the Directory.

    Considering the above, seems that most files were in the C:\Windows directory.

    If the process concluded, proceed with the installation.
     
  15. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Make sure you complete the process. Deleting the C:\Progra~1 will also take some time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324614

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice