Renaming Harddrive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

maracles

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
298
hi,

I have just installed a new harddrive and XP onto that harddrive. However the names of the drives have become mixed up - The drive on which the OS is installed is now e:\ and my spare drive is c:\

Is there anyway to change this? Will it have problems for programs who paths read e/c?
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Howdy,

Where about on the IDE cable is the HDD with the Operating System on......
 

maracles

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
298
The harddrive with the OS installed is a SATA harddrive, the secondary IDE harddrive is simply storage (however it is on the first connection of the IDE cable)
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Change it over to the first connection and it will change the drive letter to C:
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Actually, it's not nearly that simple. The drive letter of the Windows installation is very difficult to change, especially when there are a lot of applications installed. If you installed Windows on the E: drive, it's there for the duration. To move it to C:, you'll have to re-install it.

You need to setup the boot sequence in the BIOS so that the boot drive is the SATA drive, right now your Windows boot files are on the IDE most likely.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,744
John is correct. While it is possible to change a system drive letter, it is a complex process AND most [if not all] apps will need to be reinstalled anyway.

This is because when you install an app, it installs files to its own folder and to the windows and or windows\system32 folder. When you change the drive letter from E to C, the app looks for the files on "E" and you have changed it to C.

There is nothing that says the system drive "must" be C. If you really really want to change it, I would do a clean install with just the one hd connected. Make sure any card reader, zip drive, external drive, etc is disconnected for the install. Reconnect them once you have finished; the os will assign the next available drive letter.
 

maracles

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
298
Hmm ok, sounds like too much difficulty right now.

To be honest reading about Vista recently i'm very interested in buying it - may do that this week. If I do to make sure this problem doesnt occur again I should just uninstall the IDE cable whilst installing windows yes?

cheers for help.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
You want to also remember that anytime that Windows is installed on a drive other than the primary boot drive, it puts it's boot files on the primary boot drive. In your case, that means if you were to format drive C:, Windows would cease to boot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top