1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Repair/Reinstall Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by leachim, Sep 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Hello

    In XP I could do a R/R using a DVD to boot from

    It seems in W7 that can only happen while the OS is operational

    My W7 will not boot - how can I do a R/R

    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats an R/R
     
  3. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Its Repair Reinstall

    The Windows logo comes up with the pulsating flag, then goes straight to Recovery environment

    Windows cannot repair this computer

    Tried it many times including chkdsk/r from Command prompt
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you can still boot a DVD - dd you get recovery DVDs with the PC or did you create them
    Also theres a recovery partition on the PC that maybe used

    whats the make and model of the PCs
     
  5. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Its an Acer AX3400

    No Recovery DVDs - But I have a Wins 7 DVD from elsewhere
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what sort of DVD ?
    It would have to be the same version as listed on the CoA label on the PC
    then I'm not sure that retail v OEM maybe different

    As the PC starts, ACER BIOS screen, hold the Alt key and press the F10 key simultaneously to start Acer eRecovery.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,261
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you cannot boot to the installed Windows 7 you cannot do a "Repair Install" (which is what I assume that you mean by "R/R" or "Repair Reinstall").
     
  8. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Can someone write to Bill Gates and call him a <removed>

    Being able to boot via a DVD and do a repair reinstall was very useful

    Thanks
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to boot a DVD - if it cannot do a repair re-install then perhaps there is a fault on the PC - not exactly Bill Gates fault
    Please refrain language and do not use **** here as a family friendly site

    did you bother to check the bios / HDD, I posted
     
  10. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Can u talk me thru a R/R then
    Every time I have tried it, it says restart your PC into Windows and do it from there
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Not until I know the results of my questions.
    As you may have NO harddrive to do a repair and re-install ?
     
  12. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    The Alt F10 does not load the Acer Recovery
    Bios set to default
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    As the PC starts , before the Acer logo , does it give any information on entering the bios or setup ?
    Often the F2, F10 or Del keys , to enter that area
    Then on the main page you arrive at - you should see the devices & memory detected
    Does it report a Disk at all - often with the size of the Disk
     
  14. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
    Yes it lists the disk in the bios
     
  15. leachim

    leachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,112
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1156387

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice